Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2017, 05:32 PM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 432
Default HDio & 192 cooling

Hey guys,

If you have your interfaces (mixed HDio & 192s) in a rack. Would they require extra cooling? I realise they all have inbuilt fans, though the 192s seems to run hotter for some reason.

Thanks for your help

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2017, 09:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: HDio & 192 cooling

A pair of HD IO's and a 192 here. Stacked tight but a fair amount of room on the sides and have been there for a solid 2 years without issue.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2017, 02:49 AM
protoolsuserman protoolsuserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 432
Default Re: HDio & 192 cooling

I think you're right that a lot of it is to do with the amount of room on the sides for sure.

Do you have them high up in the rack or lower down?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2017, 02:49 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,060
Default Re: HDio & 192 cooling

Quote:
Originally Posted by protoolsuserman View Post
Hey guys,

If you have your interfaces (mixed HDio & 192s) in a rack. Would they require extra cooling? I realise they all have inbuilt fans, though the 192s seems to run hotter for some reason.

Thanks for your help

Robert
They only need open back, don't place your rack very near the wall
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2017, 04:40 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: HDio & 192 cooling

Mine are at the bottom of a double-wide with about 4" of space behind(top and both sides)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2017, 07:01 PM
Dan IceWood Dan IceWood is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London, UK
Posts: 115
Default Re: HDio & 192 cooling

they are fine stacked one on top of the other.

it is ONLY the sides that need ventilation at the fans are placed on one side, withe the vent holes on the other.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Win setup - HDio confusion YYR123 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 4 12-16-2016 03:01 PM
Avid HDIO 8x8x8x remotedude Buy & Sell 3 05-17-2014 07:00 PM
all 4 HDio on one HDX card, or spread them out across my 2 HDX cards? MixerGuy Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 05-11-2014 02:46 PM
HDIo supports 32 in out? SNAZ Pro Tools 10 3 11-04-2011 02:12 PM
PT9.03 doesn't recognise HDIO gavintheaudioengineer Pro Tools 9 0 07-07-2011 06:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com