Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2015, 05:52 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

I installed the Blackmagic decklink mini monitor card in my 2009 mac pro running Yosemite. I am trying to run video out of my avid protools 12 to TV. I keep getting this error:

"The Video Engine reported an error. More information is in the Video Engine log file"

Guess what I need to know is how to configure. what are the proper setting in the Desktop Video system pref. It also seems to be effecting the sync in my Protools. Didn't think I need black burst. I removed the card but still get the same error message.

Anyone ??
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2015, 06:33 PM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 289
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

I haven't got that BM model but may be try an earlier version of Desktop Video. I'm on 10.3.7 which works for me. Newer versions don't.
I've never found that I need to change any settings Decktop prefs.
__________________
Richard Spooner
Ultimate 2021.3, S1, Dock, Mac OS 10.15.7, MacMini 3.2 Ghz 6-Core i7, 64gb RAM.

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2015, 06:37 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

Thank you spoons. Any possibility you can see what your desktop setting are?

I'll see if I can find v 10.3.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2015, 06:43 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

I found v 10.3.7. I'll let you know how it works out.

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2015, 07:49 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

I should also mention I'm trying to use the SD output not the hdmi.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2015, 11:33 PM
Pythagor Pythagor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Moscow Russia
Posts: 236
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

As far as i remember mini monitor card support was added starting from particular driver version ( don't remember which one) and it is indicated in corresponding What's New document on Blackmagic site. BTW we tried mini monitor on 10.8 and haven't get any luck.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2015, 02:09 PM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 289
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelo panetta View Post
I should also mention I'm trying to use the SD output not the hdmi.
So I can use the Component out, as well as the HDMI fine. But if I select "output processing, HD to SD" it hates it.
My settings are
Output: HDMI & Component
Default: HD 1080p 23.98
Output Processing: Off
__________________
Richard Spooner
Ultimate 2021.3, S1, Dock, Mac OS 10.15.7, MacMini 3.2 Ghz 6-Core i7, 64gb RAM.

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2015, 03:50 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

my settings are pretty simple: see attached.

I reinstalled my PCIe card. No more error and sync seems to be good. Just not video output now. I've tried every setting.

What QuickTime codec do you use for your 1080p 23.98?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 6.48.39 PM.jpg (48.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 6.48.34 PM.jpg (44.3 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by angelo panetta; 10-23-2015 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2015, 08:15 PM
spoons's Avatar
spoons spoons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 289
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

DNxHD 36
__________________
Richard Spooner
Ultimate 2021.3, S1, Dock, Mac OS 10.15.7, MacMini 3.2 Ghz 6-Core i7, 64gb RAM.

www.spoonsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-24-2015, 01:44 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Anyone using Blackmagic Decklink mini monitor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by angelo panetta View Post
I should also mention I'm trying to use the SD output not the hdmi.
It isn't an SD output, it's SDI, which is quite different. Are you expecting to get a composite video out from the BNC?
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AJA T-Tap vs Blackmagic Mini Monitor test MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 58 11-01-2015 11:03 AM
HD 10.3.10 PCI Overflow with Blackmagic Decklink Mini Monitor rantanplan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 08-16-2015 01:55 AM
PT 10 & Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor Fedenev Post - Surround - Video 10 08-02-2014 10:34 PM
Have anyone use the BlackMagic Decklink Mini Monitor M-ManLA Post - Surround - Video 7 08-01-2014 06:12 AM
Blackmagic Mini Monitor WORKING with Pro Tools 11 mattsamperi Pro Tools 11 0 11-12-2013 07:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com