Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-24-2010, 09:52 PM
Banned

Default 64 Bit Pro Tools is now a MUST!!!!!!!!!

I don't know what changed but everyone of my sessions reaches the "Critically Low On Memory" and asks to save and restart. I have been using HD for 11 years now, and have had way bigger sessions and have never hit this point. Until now

I have 8 gigs of memory, and looked at the Activity Monitor 56% is at idol
Why is memory all of a sudden a issue?????????

Is it the pretty Graphics??????? We need to unlock that 3gig limit in 32 bit mode. I can't deal with all the restarts....

At least it isn't crashing.......
Old 09-25-2010, 12:37 AM

Default Re: 64 Bit Pro Tools is now a MUST!!!!!!!!!

Any chance you've recently begun using more samplers, virtual instruments, or drum hosts than usual?

That'd do it...

S..

Scofield...
Old 09-25-2010, 12:46 AM

Make sure you enable "Memory server" in Kontakt 4. Then ALL your Kontakt Sample RAM will stay outside Pro Tools. If more VI´s use this excellent method the 32 bit RAM limit won´t be a problem.
Kontakt, VSL ,Spectrasonics use this feature. But we are longing for PLAY2,BFD2,Superior to follow.
Old 09-25-2010, 02:40 AM

Plays does something similar also already
Old 09-25-2010, 07:14 AM

Hosting your VIs in something like VE Pro will unlock all of your RAM also. Works like a charm.
Old 09-25-2010, 12:35 PM
Banned

Vi's do it to but I usually bounce to audio then get rid of the VI.