Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2000, 01:27 PM
RobbieC RobbieC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Alexandria,VA, USA
Posts: 3
Default Protools Certification?

I'll be a graduating senior in college and I"m activly looking for recording positions. While I understand that most "newbies" start out as assistants I would like to do anything I can to better my chances. I've been using Protools TDM for about 5 years and feel that I'm pretty good on it. But I would like to know for purposes of poping it on a resume..does digidesign (or avid) offer any sort of protools certification classes? If so where might I get some more info about those classes?

Thanks
Robbie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2000, 08:48 PM
rat1016 rat1016 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 292
Default Re: Protools Certification?

Check out The Conservatory of Recording Arts
and Sciences.They are the only Avid certified
school to teach Pro Tools.
Good school.
hasta, rat1016
__________________
Matt
Las Vegas
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2000, 11:53 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,578
Default Re: Protools Certification?

There are also other Avid Authorized Pro Tools Training Centers: http://www.avid.com/education

Avid keeps this list, which is linked from the Definitions page in Support on the Digidesign web site.

------------------
Bruce Paine
eMarketing
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2000, 05:59 AM
BobbyDazzler's Avatar
BobbyDazzler BobbyDazzler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Protools Certification?

Don't waste time or money on the schools. Go straight to the studios and find one where you think you can be useful. Then hang around helping them out wherever possible. You'll either get arrested or employed.
Its worked twice for me and I know for a fact that either of them didn't read my resume.
Engineering is more like a trade than an academic study. I'd take a 4th year apprentice over a Bachelor student anyday.
__________________
HP Z2 Xeon 6 Core, Blackmagic Decklink HD Extreme 3D Win10, PT ver.. Latest
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2000, 08:37 AM
PeterCole PeterCole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Studio City, CA< USA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Protools Certification?

If you go to a Pro Tools school just remember that "those who can do, those who can't, teach". Learn what you can at a school, but be prepared to throw a lot of it out the window when you get a real job. There is no substitute for learning on the job. A certificate from an authorized Pro Tools school only shows that you are sincere about learning, not that you have any practical knowledge...sorry, but its true.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2000, 01:47 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: Protools Certification?

I do have a sense of humor, but...

First of all, Peter, that nonsense about teaching doesn't apply to any field related to the arts.

But mainly, why even spread that stupid line around? Arnold Schwartzenegger makes $650,000 a day; teachers might make that in 15 years. They're certainly not teaching to get rich, and the world does sorta need them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2000, 09:48 PM
Eric.D Eric.D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 219
Default Re: Protools Certification?

Robbie,
It seems like you pretty much have the
pro tool system learned (5 years),But
pt is a small part of whats involved in
working in a recording facility.

If you feel the need, look for a accredited
school ( full sail,the conservatory,Ect..)
which will cover all the basic fundamentals
required in laying down a solid foundation
in becoming a good, hireble engineer...

Or you can go to the good`ole school of
hard knocks(the route i took) which builds
self-assurance and character, but at a
price (not$$)...

Not to many ways around the coffee pot.
Either way, dues will be paid...
Eric

www.peaksound.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2000, 11:03 AM
PeterCole PeterCole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Studio City, CA< USA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Protools Certification?

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Nick Batzdorf:
I do have a sense of humor, but...

First of all, Peter, that nonsense about teaching doesn't apply to any field related to the arts.

But mainly, why even spread that stupid line around? Arnold Schwartzenegger makes $650,000 a day; teachers might make that in 15 years. They're certainly not teaching to get rich, and the world does sorta need them.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I believe you'll learn more practical info in 6 months sitting behind a great engineer then you will learn in a school). When I hire someone I look for real world experience.

Don't confuse the three R's with Audio.

Just my 25 years of experience speaking... just my opinion.


[This message has been edited by PeterCole (edited June 25, 2000).]

[This message has been edited by PeterCole (edited June 25, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2000, 11:32 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: Protools Certification?

Peter, my rant was simply an emotional reaction. Most of us owe a lot to some inspiring teachers in our past, and I don't feel they deserve to be dissed en masse. (You've probably seen the bumper sticker with a couple of notes: if you can read this, thank a music teacher.)

Whether or not Robbie C would benefit from classes or certification is another matter. I personally think that classes are good for some people but unnecessary for others. People learn in different ways and feel more confident learning in different environments. We're all different. Besides, you can learn nuclear physics on your own too! An extreme example, but you get the point.

Certification certainly couldn't hurt anyone, and who knows - maybe he'd even find work through the class. But I don't know where you get your Pro Tool driver's licence.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2000, 11:38 PM
Nick Batzdorf Nick Batzdorf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA USA
Posts: 665
Default Re: Protools Certification?

And another thing: nobody ever said that certification is a substitute for an apprenticeship, which is what you're describing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools Certification 6figgas 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-23-2007 09:31 AM
Protools 101 Certification bushra General Discussion 0 08-01-2007 06:14 PM
ProTools Certification lost_sound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-02-2004 04:51 PM
Digidesign ProTools Certification! iamstudios General Discussion 0 05-17-2002 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com