Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-13-2021, 10:18 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,913
Default Re: Distorted Audio

I can't really help you, but I guess the roaring silence has to do with your info that you're trying to run PT on a machine with only 4gb RAM. You should have checked the system requirements for PT before buying that subscription. You'll need at least 16 gb memory.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-13-2021, 10:40 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,588
Default Re: Distorted Audio

As Ben kinda pointed out, you are trying to run things on an underperforming platform. But, that may not be the source of your problem. The AT2020USB is a 9 year old device that does not run on a specifically written driver. My guess is you're using whatever is presented via the Windows audio device settings. You might have better luck using ASIO4ALL which presents the available wdm devices to Pro Tools as though they were using ASIO drivers. Good luck.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-15-2021, 07:36 AM
elijahmusicboy elijahmusicboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: united states
Posts: 17
Default Re: Distorted Audio

Thank you both for your help. I do not think (if there is any way to prevent it) that I want to buy a completely new computer, so do you suggest I buy a new sound card such as the ASIO4ALL and use it on my computer?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-15-2021, 08:24 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,588
Default Distorted Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahmusicboy View Post
Thank you both for your help. I do not think (if there is any way to prevent it) that I want to buy a completely new computer, so do you suggest I buy a new sound card such as the ASIO4ALL and use it on my computer?

A dedicated audio interface is always a good idea when working with audio, especially for the input preamps necessary when using microphones. ASIO4ALL is free and might help the distortion problem but in the long run it’s not the preferred method for getting the audio I/O necessary when working in a DAW.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-16-2021, 10:10 AM
elijahmusicboy elijahmusicboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: united states
Posts: 17
Default Re: Distorted Audio

What wouldbe the preferred method then?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-16-2021, 10:20 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,913
Default Re: Distorted Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahmusicboy View Post
What wouldbe the preferred method then?
Forget Pro Tools if you can't get a computer powerful enough to run it.
You could sell your license and try other DAWs, but you'll not get very far with underpowered hardware.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-16-2021, 10:26 AM
elijahmusicboy elijahmusicboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: united states
Posts: 17
Default Re: Distorted Audio

How do I sell my license?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-16-2021, 10:32 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,913
Default Re: Distorted Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahmusicboy View Post
How do I sell my license?
You'll have to find a buyer, then search avid support for "transfer of license". This has been known to be quite a longdrawn process, even worse these days.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-16-2021, 11:03 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,588
Default Re: Distorted Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by elijahmusicboy View Post
What wouldbe the preferred method then?

Using an audio interface to allow for the input of microphones and output to studio monitors (speakers). But, if you just want to monitor with headphones while editing etc, then give ASIO4ALL a go.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-16-2021, 11:20 AM
elijahmusicboy elijahmusicboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: united states
Posts: 17
Default Re: Distorted Audio

Ok thank you! So I downloaded it. Now how to I use it to possible rectify my problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distorted Audio in 10.1.1 Rubicon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-11-2012 10:53 AM
Using busses but getting distorted audio ianstonehouse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-27-2009 10:28 AM
distorted imported audio caulto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-09-2008 09:28 AM
Distorted audio from OMF berk Post - Surround - Video 3 05-14-2005 09:18 AM
distorted audio Ricco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-15-2000 03:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com