Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-29-2009, 09:43 AM
fenderrocker fenderrocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ft. Myers, FL
Posts: 425
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythmtechnologies View Post
im using an ati radeon 128mb pci. the nvidia that came in my i7 was just not working right with PT (512mb). since i changed to the ati all has been well.
Yeah, but having more video memory cant hurt, and if you want it to perform well with future application at higher resolution, I would not recommend getting a PCI card. First of all, you won't save much money (or any at all) buying a new one.

I don't think many rtas plugs have very graphic intensive UI's, except my POD farm, but having a good GPU with definitely increase the overall performance of your build. You don't want to have a crappy graphics card holding back your computer.

Just saying, if you're gonna have an i7, don't get a low end graphics card.
fanless and nonfanless, you should probably get one from a know company like EVGA or XFX.

Here's a link to fanless graphics cards on Newegg.com



Jimmy C
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:50 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
Yeah, but having more video memory cant hurt, and if you want it to perform well with future application at higher resolution, I would not recommend getting a PCI card. First of all, you won't save much money (or any at all) buying a new one.
See this is what I was originally pondering. I found the original article I was talking about in my first post and if you got the time to read it you'll see what I mean about why a lower memory GFX card might be better with Protools. Of course its a 2yr old document so I'm not sure how relevant it is now but heres the link:

http://www.dansdata.com/askdan00015.htm

Start reading after the first picture in the text (the one with all the hex) for the bit about graphics cards.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:25 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderrocker View Post
Yeah, but having more video memory cant hurt,

Jimmy C
All of the tests we have done over the years show: more video RAM= poorer PT and plug-in performance. Pro Tools will not look better with a bigger card. This is a DAW. Save the bigger cards for your gaming or other GPU intensive computers.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:46 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

That echoes much of what I was reading Tom. In that sense then you're saying the less video Ram the better for Protools right? To be clear, i'm thinking of going the Gigabyte route with the build using the GA-EX58-UD3R motherboard and it seems now like I should be looking for a pci express board with 128mb or less of memory (which don't seem so common now). Does this seem right? (the build btw is for Protools only)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-29-2009, 04:49 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,382
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

Quote:
Originally Posted by stev View Post
That echoes much of what I was reading Tom. In that sense then you're saying the less video Ram the better for Protools right?
Absolutely.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:01 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

hey just edited my last post if you wanna re-read and confirm.... thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-29-2009, 06:57 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,688
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

Quote:
Originally Posted by stev View Post
pci express board with 128mb or less of memory (which don't seem so common now). Does this seem right? (the build btw is for Protools only)
Not if it's 128mb of video built into the board. Pro Tools doesn't like integrated video, but rather wants a separate video card. A 256 mb video card should be more than enough for PT.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-29-2009, 07:03 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: GFX card memory question for new i7 build

no I meant the ram on the graphics card. Anyways the Gigabyte motherboard (GA-EX58-UD3R) I refered to above doesn't have on-board graphics. But I'm a little confused again at this juncture. The UD3R offers a choice of PCI Express 2.0, PCI Express or PCI. PCI based GFX cards seem to offer the lowest video ram but they don't seem that common now. I was hoping to go the ATI route given the problems people were having with Nvidia cards but the only ATI card I can find at 128mb rings in at £325 which seems ridiculous. I'm probably going a little overboard with all this but if there performance gains to be had by installing a video card with less memory then i'd like to find one that doesn't cost the earth.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Second Build I-7 CPU, Memory and Buss speed 720hours World Record Pro Tools 9 1 03-01-2011 06:36 AM
How much memory to build into my new machine? sunburst79 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-21-2006 10:44 AM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 Tips & Tricks 5 09-23-2003 01:08 PM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 09-19-2003 07:40 PM
To build or not to build? Money is the question... storm-01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-18-2003 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com