Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:09 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

Hello all,
I'm currently doing a bit of research prior to a new i7 build but I'm wondering about current thought on the OS. I had an awful time with Vista since my introduction to it 2 ys ago and have since stayed with XP. Haven't followed the debate since and was wondering:

Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:11 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

In my personal opinion? Yes, absolutely.

In semi-scientific user testing? Yes, absolutely.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2009, 05:32 PM
stev stev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 36
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

Thanks for getting back so quick. Yea I figured it was but I guess I was hoping Vista had finally got it right. To be honest its just that i'm sick to death of the XP interface. Like many here i've been on XP for what seems like an eternity and after using a friends new Mac the other day it just showed how dated the XP interface really is. I've been using PCs for so long now that I can't ever imagine migrating to a Mac setup but god they are worlds apart in terms of functionality and flow.
I had one more quick question about the GFX card but I'll start a new post for that....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-28-2009, 07:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

I had misery with Vista and was not able to get Win7 under control, so I have to agree, XP is the way to go for the near future. Once you are in Pro Tools, you really don't see XP.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-28-2009, 10:42 PM
BG41 BG41 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

Vista Ultimate and XP pro both will give great performance in Pro tools. Its just a matter of setting them both up correctly. I have Vista on most of my Studio PCs, XP on a few and on my Macs. I have been lucky enough to form connections and got to use a pre release version on Windows 7 (not beta or RC) you guys will all be going to it very soon!
__________________
The screams of the wicked haunt my thoughts.
Buried in the depths of Hell, I rule with an iron fist. Cross me, and you mark your downfall.

PC: Intel i7 975 Extreme 3.33Ghz- 12GB Ram
Mac: Intel 8 core Mac Pro- 20GB Ram
Pro Tools Interfaces: PT HD3, 003R+, 003, Mbox Pro, Mbox Micro.
3 C-24's
Icon-D
PT 8
Certified Digidesign Engineer and Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-29-2009, 01:59 AM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stev View Post
Hello all,
I'm currently doing a bit of research prior to a new i7 build but I'm wondering about current thought on the OS. I had an awful time with Vista since my introduction to it 2 ys ago and have since stayed with XP. Haven't followed the debate since and was wondering:

Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?
XP hands down. Vista is a catastrophe!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-29-2009, 05:01 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Is XPsp3 still the way to go for performance?

XP sp3 here. waiting for W7
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro Performance master-fader macOS 0 11-21-2011 02:08 PM
Performance PT8 vs PT9 rofa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 11-26-2010 03:56 PM
PT9 Performance? Chingy Pro Tools 9 4 11-09-2010 03:20 PM
Amd 64 = Better performance ??????????????? jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-25-2004 03:25 AM
has anyone a/b'd performance of a g3 vs. a g4 mullet rocker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 25 06-22-2001 08:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com