Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2003, 07:04 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default HD stereo dithered mixer

Do you use the stereo dithered mixer if you mix in the box on PT HD???

does it sound better like on the good old mix systems??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2003, 12:14 AM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

any mixers out there...???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2003, 02:20 PM
BoRiZ KukoBa BoRiZ KukoBa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 55
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Yup !!!
My hears are catch this!!
Mixer internal bit depth is 48bit, but AUXes is 24...
During bitdepth change (48 to 24) the audio-signal has small harmonic dirty
Dither fix it(it generate low level noise).

This important when you mixing many tracks with many AUXes.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pro Tools 2018.4 Ultimate; Omni HD+HDX1 over Thunderbolt 2; MacPro 6.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2003, 03:42 PM
lukeyy lukeyy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ch
Posts: 329
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

ok - cool!

any other poeple mixing with the dithered mixer??

do you HEAR the differnce??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2003, 06:13 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Quote:

Mixer internal bit depth is 48bit, but AUXes is 24...

Hey Thanks on this I had no idea, I kinda wondered why when I sub-mixed stuff in busses it sounded funny to me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:25 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,343
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Yeah, that grit that builds up at around 144db down can really spoil an otherwise perfect mix and make it nearly worhtless...

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2003, 08:44 PM
David Schober David Schober is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Brentwood, TN, USA
Posts: 220
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Okay...that bears out what I've tried too. Despite a fairly detailed article a digi support guy linked me to saying that all auxes and masters were 48 bit it doesn't seem to bear out in my experiences.

Someone from Digi needs to respond to this question....which is it? everybody 48 bit or not?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2003, 12:39 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,129
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Quote:
Yeah, that grit that builds up at around 144db down can really spoil an otherwise perfect mix and make it nearly worhtless...

Steve
Mega LOL
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2021, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2003, 05:33 AM
Allan Speers Allan Speers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

"which is it? everybody 48 bit or not?"

What I've read on other forums is that one of the few changes Digi made with HD was that the auxes are now 48 bit. I have no idea if this is true, but it seems to be the current "accepted truth."
-------------

Lukeyy, to answer your original question, the dithered mixer makes a clearly audible improvement, to my ears. The difference is more noticeable on delicate source material, or audio with a lot of natural ambience. It can be almost imperceptable on in-your-face pop / R&B mixes. Still, it takes up so little extra dsp, I don't see why we even HAVE a non-dithered option.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2003, 10:45 PM
schmeete schmeete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 97
Default Re: HD stereo dithered mixer

Yes I am pretty sure Auxes are 48 bit summing, but to get from a track to an aux via a bus, you pass through a TDM "node", which is 24 bit.

This is my understanding of it.

Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo mixer.dpm or Stereo Dithered Mixer.dpm in my plug-ins folder? Shame Pro Tools 10 1 02-13-2012 03:57 PM
Stereo dithered mixer with summing mixer? Brahamnesik Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 04-16-2011 10:13 AM
Stereo Dithered Mixer Matt_G Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 12-16-2007 01:48 AM
dithered stereo mixer songman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-06-2006 07:33 AM
When using the stereo dithered mixer…? Mick F. Cantarella Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-22-2003 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com