Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2011, 10:04 AM
stinkyjunk stinkyjunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Posts: 4
Question Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Hey everyone!!! I used to have M-powered pro tools years ago, and haven't really kept up with PT since. I just bought a Digi 002 off of ebay for a steal of a price, but it comes with LE 7. Although I have a windows machine, I would like to use pro tools with my MACBook (running OSX 10.6.8). I am aware that LE 7 is not compatible with this. Here is my question....What version of Pro tools should I buy that will work with my Digi 002 r, my macbook, and the plug ins that came with LE 7? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2011, 12:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,859
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

According to the compatibility grid, you need PT8 with the 8.0.5 update(so you may as well go to PT9)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2011, 01:49 PM
stinkyjunk stinkyjunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Thanks!!! I wasn't sure if PT 9 would work with the Digi 002. The compatibility chart helped. Thanks again...answered most of my questions except what will happen with the plugins.

It appears that PT 8 comes with some plugins..how about 9? I am having a tough time finding info on the Avid site.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2011, 09:05 PM
kazuomik kazuomik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkyjunk View Post
Thanks!!! I wasn't sure if PT 9 would work with the Digi 002. The compatibility chart helped. Thanks again...answered most of my questions except what will happen with the plugins.

It appears that PT 8 comes with some plugins..how about 9? I am having a tough time finding info on the Avid site.
I have Digi 002 Rack and MacBook Pro with Mac OS X 10.6.8, and Pro Tools 9 and 10 works.

Basically, RTAS plug-ins that came with Pro Tools LE 7 works on Pro Tools LE 8, Pro Tools 9 and 10, and usually upper version of Pro Tools has more plug-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2011, 09:15 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,859
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Yes, PT9 works fine with the 002, but remember that the driver is now a separate download and install for PT9(not sure about PT10).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-13-2011, 08:27 AM
stinkyjunk stinkyjunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Great info guys...thanks!!! One last question, and I should be good....

I went to buy PT 9 last night, and noticed that at the Avid store there is PT 9 upgrade for 199 and full version for 299. Can I buy the upgrade (with LE 7) or do I need to buy the full version?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2011, 03:31 PM
kazuomik kazuomik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkyjunk View Post
Great info guys...thanks!!! One last question, and I should be good....

I went to buy PT 9 last night, and noticed that at the Avid store there is PT 9 upgrade for 199 and full version for 299. Can I buy the upgrade (with LE 7) or do I need to buy the full version?
You can buy Pro tools 9 Crossgrade from LE, but ...
You need iLok and ilok.com account to activate the license.
Also, during activation at avid.com, you need to enter the serial number of Digi 002 Rack which should not have been used for activation by the previous owner.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2011, 07:13 AM
stinkyjunk stinkyjunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Just bought Digi 002 Rack

Thanks everyone....I appreciate the info, and just bought PT 9 full version. Im sure I'll have a gazillion questions in the next few weeks.

Great forum you guys have here!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought 003+ rack-need computer Bobert87 Windows 21 02-15-2013 01:48 PM
Bought: Used Eleven Rack... No Pro Tools LE msantarc Eleven Rack 5 11-21-2012 04:00 PM
Just bought an Eleven Rack Kaigne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 01-09-2010 07:36 PM
just bought digi 003 rack and lights flickered when powering Hardnox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-30-2007 07:33 AM
Bought 002 rack this winter with 6.4, need 6.7 jaredhau 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-24-2005 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com