Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2002, 07:06 PM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

Okay here's the deal,

Previously I ran my synths into the stereo ports on my behringer but I was getting some low level hum that I didn't like so I moved them to the mono ins. The hum went away.

I have my keyboard and my synth plugged into 4 channels on the behringer mixer. Basically acting as a left and right for each synth and module. The last track I did sounded really hot but in a good way and then I realized why. I was getting the stereo the left and right channel mixed into the output. (maybe this is obvious to some) Basically the track is being doubled.

Anyway, my question is: Will this hurt the overall quality of my sounds, like the kick or snare being unaturally too full (this might seem dumb, but I just don't know) Should I stick to single recording. I know the rule use your ears, but a little technical no how never hurt anyone. Open to all opinions.
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2002, 12:09 AM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

I can't believe noone has responded yet...do you guys hate me?
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2002, 12:21 AM
Phil O'Keefe Phil O'Keefe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern CA USA
Posts: 2,922
Default Re: Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

Naaaw, we don't hate you - we just don't understand you! [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Seriously, I'm not really sure I understand your routing description, but if it SOUNDS okay, then what's to worry about?
__________________
Phil O'Keefe

PT 2023.6 Ultimate (Perpetual) | Avid Carbon | M1 Max Mac Studio; 32 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.

PT 2023.6 Studio (Perpetual) | M1 MacBook Air; 16 GB RAM / 1 TB SSD, macOS 13.4.1 Ventura.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2002, 12:28 AM
citi citi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

Phil,

Okay...fair enough. I have my trinity keyboard going out left and right to the behringer line in 1 and 2. I have my sound module doing the same going into line 3 and 4. I run stereo balanced out to my PENTA and into digi analog(for now). Because of this I am getting to mono tracks going into digi. So say I am recording a kick drum. Typically if you ran mono you would have the mono going into line 1 and ouput out of your mixer. Now I have the kick drum on line one and line two going out as a mono sound which makes it louder and fuller. Do I make sense? Now see my previous question because by no means am I an expert so I wondered if anyone else has done this. Now I am confusing myself... [img]images/icons/tongue.gif[/img]
__________________
CiTi
----------------------------------
http://www.checkonet2ent.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2002, 02:35 PM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

so, you´re recording a mono signal onto 2 tracks.
hhhhmmmmm are they panned as stereo or both in the middle?
well, anyways, if it sounds good.......
__________________
what a long, strange trip it´s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-04-2002, 11:41 PM
pk_hat pk_hat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: grimy Brooklyn
Posts: 4,680
Default Re: Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks

Jorge made a good ponit.
Make sure your mixer input pairs are
panned full left and right. So, inputs
1 and 3 are panned left, 2 and 4 panned
right.

A while back I had a thread started
with everythig sounding so different
when monitoring through PT as opposed to
from the behringer. It turned out that
my PT outs were fed to 2 mono faders on the
mixer as opposed to one stereo fader, and each
of these faders were panned dead center, making
things sound like crap.

pk
__________________
www.myspace.com/krou
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
grouping mixer tracks bad_ben 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-21-2008 07:14 AM
coloring mixer tracks? req06 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-06-2007 11:45 AM
Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment? ishur Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 05-23-2007 05:20 AM
question about doubling vocals...mix related Canary green 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 10-22-2003 01:52 PM
Doubling / bounce question Jonah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-30-2003 11:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com