Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2022, 06:21 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 53
Default HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

Hello, I just got a new MacBook Pro M1 pro 14" for my pro tools rig. I installed pro tools, then I installed the HD Driver but when I installed the HD driver I got a message saying "Pro Tools HD Native Thunderbolt requires a firmware update. Launch Pro Tools and select 'Pro Tools HD Native Thunderbolt' in the playback engine to run the update". But when I launch Pro Tools and I open a blank session, the session doesn't seem to open. I see the little "building session box" pop up but there's no Pro Tools window. The Pro Tools Icon is present on the dock but when I hit "Show All Windows" nothing comes up. I installed everything from the latest version of Avid Link. Anyone have any ideas. I just got the HD Native Thunderbolt used and I don't have another computer that has thunderbolt, so I can't update the firmware on another machine. Thanks, Shane
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2022, 06:39 PM
landstrom27 landstrom27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 53
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

Pro Tools version is 2022.7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2022, 06:53 PM
nsureit nsureit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 216
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

That happened to me when I bought a 7 year old HDX card. I kept getting the same message that the card needed to update the firmware. I could not successfully update the card despite running all the troubleshooting procedures. I called AVID, and together we could not update the card. One option was to install the card in another thunderbolt chassis with another computer, but none was available to me. I ended up sending the card to AVID where they successfully updated the firmware, but at great expense. Since then, the HDX card has completed subsequent firmware updates with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-17-2022, 01:55 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 236
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

Hello nsureit,
If you don’t mind me asking what did Avid charge to upgrade your firmware?
Thanks,
H
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-17-2022, 06:00 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 3,046
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

That's BS. They should have updated for free. If their hardware won't update in order to use their software, it's a faulty piece of hardware and they should have fixed it. Especially considering how much these cards cost.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Protools Ultimate 2023.6 / HD|Native-TB
2018 MacBook Pro: six-core i9, 32GB, 1TB, Monterey / Protools Studio 2023.6, / DVS / DAR, L-ISA Studio

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre+HD32R / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2022, 06:40 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,507
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

What version of Pro Tools were you using previously? This stuff often happens when making big leaps between Pro Tools. Usually the solution is to find an interim, older version of Pro Tools that will drag the firmware closer to being current, then the current version of Pro Tools will recognise the interface and install the new firmware.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2024.3. OSX 13.6.5. Win 10. HD Native. Lynx AES16e. Lynx Aurora 16. i9-13900KF. ASRock Z690 Steel Legend. 64GB Ram. AMD Vega 64. BM Decklink. Dolby Atmos Renderer 5.2. Trinnov D-Mon. D-Command.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2022, 09:42 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,223
Default Re: HD Native Thunderbolt won't update firmware

There was old firmware where there needed to be power when power-cycling for the new firmware to transfer into the blocks of the active firmware. (Warm boot)

That happens in computers. But thunderbolt powered chassis don’t do that (power shuts off with the computer) so the active firmware stayed the same as the old. At some point, Avid changed how the firmware blocks are written to the active area so you didn’t need warm boot devices. If you have old firmware, move the card to a computer and update to a recent firmware. Then you can do chassis updates in the future.

(We kept a 5,1 at the studio for this purpose after we ran into this issue)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.3.1, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.6RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Trying to update firmware on native HD card Mr. Light Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 02-05-2022 09:02 PM
update HD Native firmware for PT 12.2 on Windows machine? jonathan jetter Pro Tools 12 0 09-25-2015 12:17 PM
HD Native Firmware update on a 12 core mac Shifted Music Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 05-25-2014 09:08 AM
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts NicoDS macOS 15 03-05-2012 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com