Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2014, 09:49 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default HD Native Firmware update on a 12 core mac

My machine won't let me install os 10.6.7 in order to run the Native Card Flasher.


Is there really no other way to do this on a 12 core 5,1 mac with Mavericks?

I can get 10.8 installed on a drive just to flash the firmware but that doesn't seem listed anywhere.

Ideas?
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2014, 11:01 AM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: HD Native Firmware update on a 12 core mac

ON my 12 core I moved the card to slot 3 and it worked.

Should I keep in this slot, or move back to the faster slot closet to the video card?


Slot 4 ----- empty
Slot 3 ------HD native card
Slot 2-------empty (but isn't this where the card is supposed to go?)
Slot 1-------video card.
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2014, 09:08 AM
rich_kurtz rich_kurtz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Galloway, NJ
Posts: 4
Default Re: HD Native Firmware update on a 12 core mac

Following other threads. Running in to THE SAME problem. It looks like physically MOVING the card to a different slot is what it takes. Ran the Native Card Flasher again (after moving the card) and now it worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native cant Update Firmware after installing PT9.0.5 Update Aditu Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 72 11-27-2012 03:57 PM
HD Native card wont update firmware on PT10 after several atempts NicoDS macOS 15 03-05-2012 12:10 PM
Which Mac Pro for HD Native? 2008 8 Core or 2009 Quad Core? sws2h Pro Tools 10 6 11-03-2011 03:23 PM
How to update Core Card Firmware? poem Pro Tools 9 1 04-10-2011 03:45 AM
Firmware Update HELP. My 003 Rack will not update Firmware. New003RackUser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-17-2007 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com