Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2007, 10:45 AM
ishur ishur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 87
Default Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

This question is a little different than the aux bus question on another thread, but similar. Suppose I send a track to an outboard hardware unit via inserts, so it come back in properly compensated for. Then suppose I want to print that track and use it along with the original (thus also freeing up the outboard gear for use on a different track). Presumably the act of printing the track will result in an audio file that is out of alignment with the original track (since you have to bus it). How do I then align the two tracks to use them together? Or if I simply bounce the original track to disk instead of bussing it does that avoid the issue?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2007, 01:48 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,701
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Quote:
How do I then align the two tracks to use them together?
Zoom-in to sample level and slide the late track back.
__________________
Desktop build: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64GB / 4TB NVMe PCIe 4 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i5-12500H / 16GB / 1TB NVMe / Lenovo IdeaPad 5i Pro / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Ancient/Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Click for resume
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2007, 02:35 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Quote:
Presumably the act of printing the track will result in an audio file that is out of alignment with the original track (since you have to bus it).
Incorrect. If you use ADC, your printed track will be aligned. That's the point of ADC. Try it!
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2007, 03:34 PM
ishur ishur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 87
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Really? Excellent. So I really am getting my money's worth from TDM.

Thanks, Jeremy.

Irwin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:06 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 885
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Oh golly - big can of worms. There are many possible ways to do this depending on what outcome you'd like. I like to catch everything up to, and including the hardware insert; and leave everything after it in place. Makes recalls easy and doesn't lock me in too much.

If you leave ADC on, your printed tracks will be ahead by whatever the round trip conversion is plus the plugin delay from any plugins before the insert. Without ADC, they'll be behind. There's a one sample difference between fully disabling ADC in the menu, and disabling just the single channel with control/command click...

Personally I find all this to be too much to chase. I just zoom in, make a hard DC tick with the pecil tool in the original track. Then I use this to re-align the "frozen" track. Multi-mic'd stuff is more subjective (like a kick drum that's been processed with outboard). Sometimes the "frozen" track just doesn't sit the same as the the original...

Phase is a b*tch isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2007, 01:09 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 885
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Quote:
Quote:
Presumably the act of printing the track will result in an audio file that is out of alignment with the original track (since you have to bus it).
Incorrect. If you use ADC, your printed track will be aligned. That's the point of ADC. Try it!
depends on how you print it. It's a little more complicated than that...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2007, 03:27 AM
ishur ishur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 87
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Can you elaborate, Scott? Was I correct originally, that bouncing the track to disk would not result in a delay but using a bus would?

This is definitely confusing...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2007, 02:22 PM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Well, I have lost my confidence in ADC.

Someone please tell me what i am doing wrong here...

The test - working at 44.1:

1. Make a mono track. Put a 1 sample event in it, starting at 88200 samples. bus the output of this track to...
2. make a mono aux. put an insert across it -- 192 analog out hardwired to 192 analog in. buss the output of this aux to track 2.
3. record the event, now bussed to an aux and routed to an insert, back to track 2.

track 2 is now 1 sample earlier than the original source.

Test, part 2:

4. make a mono track, call it track 3. route output of track 1 to input of track 3 via a mono bus.
5. record.

track 3 is now 83 samples EARLIER than the original source.

I did this test 3 times. All results were the same.

ADC was enabled (long).
PT 7.3.1cs2
192 interface (stock)

Am I not understanding what ADC does here? I just assumed that it would time correct these basic paths???

There were NO plugins of any kind in the session. The "insert" was a hard patch from analog out to analog in.

What am I missing here?

Anyone care to take 3 minutes and replicate this test for yourself?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-21-2007, 04:34 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

do you have the Compensate for Delay toggled on in the I/O Setup Input page?
I'm thinking that ADC is double compensating if it is on
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:23 AM
jeremyroberts jeremyroberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 3,020
Default Re: Printing and doubling tracks--alighnment?

Quote:
do you have the Compensate for Delay toggled on in the I/O Setup Input page?
I'm thinking that ADC is double compensating if it is on
no, it was off.

I repeated all the tests with the 'compensate for delay" enabled:

test1: instead of 1 sample early, it is now 15 samples late
test2: instead of 83 samples early, it's now 1 sample early

My expectations were zero samples.

I need a tutorial here of what to expect, what ADC does, doesn't do, and ask, does the emperor have any clothes? I don't see that he's wearing any right now.

Someone else care to take 3 minutes and confirm/deny my tests?

Danny -- can you or one of your esteemed colleagues please clarify ADC and expectations -- I did this testing years ago -- and it came back 0 and 0. Something is not working as I think it's supposed to. Either that, or the spec has changed. Either that or our expectations have changed... or something. Guidance please?
__________________
--Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing/Freezing tracks in PT9? JonesH Pro Tools 9 0 09-14-2011 01:56 AM
Some tracks not printing...WTF!?! googs Post - Surround - Video 2 06-15-2011 09:46 AM
Latency differences when printing tracks RKrizman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-13-2005 01:59 PM
printing tracks w effects Locash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-14-2002 04:58 PM
Mixer Question - Doubling of tracks citi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-04-2002 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com