Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2024, 04:49 PM
Nick Melander's Avatar
Nick Melander Nick Melander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Muncie Indiana
Posts: 12
Default C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

All

I've upgraded my worksation to Studio M1 Sonoma 14.1 and upgraded to Pro tools 2024.3.1. I'm trying to get my C/24 to talk to PT and I'm looking to see if there is anyone on this forum that 1) has done it successfully 2) if I can garner your assistance 3) if we can stay in touch and colaberate? I can't see abandoning my old C/24! Its just a big mouse....but I bought it new and I don't want to abandon unless I absolutely have to. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thx in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2024, 04:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,683
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

It's behaving as expected given Avid oh so nicely removed the MAudio MIDI driver in 2024.3. There are many threads already about this on DUC that you can find with Google search.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:09 PM
Nick Melander's Avatar
Nick Melander Nick Melander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Muncie Indiana
Posts: 12
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

Hey Darryl. Man, I cant find anything on DUC! I'm sure it's just me. So what your saying is that there is no way that I can continue to utilize the C/24 unless I backup to a older version of PT?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:15 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,683
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

Oh wait you are on a C|24 sorry, my brain fart. I read that too fast as a Control something with Neyrinck compatibility software, and that was broken recently.

What did you upgrade from? The C|24 does not have Apple silicon support in Pro Tools, never did, so you have to run Pro Tools under Rosetta to get it to work. If you were running older versions of Pro Tools on Apple Silicon they must have been been Intel only binaries or ran under Rosetta by default.

https://www.google.com/search?q=C%7C...3Aduc.avid.com

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 04-14-2024 at 05:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:21 PM
Nick Melander's Avatar
Nick Melander Nick Melander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Muncie Indiana
Posts: 12
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

So R U of a mind that the Neyrinck compatibility software is the ONLY option at this point?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2024, 05:38 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,683
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

It's the only option if you don't want to run under Rosetta.

You should grab the free trial of Neyrinck stuff and try it out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2024, 06:45 PM
Nick Melander's Avatar
Nick Melander Nick Melander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Muncie Indiana
Posts: 12
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

Another stupid question! Why wouldn't I want to "run under Rosetta"?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2024, 07:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,683
Default Re: C/24 and Protools Studio 2024 compatibility?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Melander View Post
Another stupid question! Why wouldn't I want to "run under Rosetta"?
Potentially slower/more overhead and eventually Apple will remove Rosetta from macOS, but it's likely got a few years left. You will also eventually see Avid and plugin vendors only offering Apple Silicon software, but that will likely be further away.

The decision is yours, if you just came off Rosetta I had assumed you would just turn it on... but you should look at what Neyrinck offer, they are doing great stuff, but it's no longer a straight up C|24. Meanwhile the main take away is Avid showing potential customers not to purchase hardware from them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2024.3 blackmagic compatibility peapodpost macOS 2 04-12-2024 06:08 AM
Mac OS 14.4.1 with PT Studio 2024.3 ?? musiclee macOS 9 04-11-2024 11:09 AM
Pro Tools 2024.3 third party daw controller compatibility? atticmike Pro Tools 2 04-08-2024 09:13 AM
HELP - No Cloud License for PT Studio after update to 2024.3 Uli Auer Licensing & Accounts 1 04-04-2024 02:00 AM
does my protools 9 have compatibility with the PRESONUS studio Live shesagogedder General Discussion 2 01-12-2011 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com