Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2011, 02:10 PM
matbiv matbiv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 8
Default 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Hi all,

Is there a way to listen to 5.1 tracks on a laptop?
Listen to the LR from LCRLsRsSW is enough for me. Is just to be able to work at home without any interface.

PT 9HD on MacBook Pro
Mac OSX 10.6.6

Thanks,
Matbiv
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2011, 03:24 PM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Neyrinck stereo surrounde code plug in
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2011, 04:32 AM
matbiv matbiv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 8
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Thanks for that but i think it's not what i want.
What i want is to be able to listen to a 5.1 track (but the LR of this track is enough) with my laptop speakers just when i click on PLAY.
So my question is, is it possible? maybe with I/O setup, bus, aux or anything else?

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2011, 06:06 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Sure. Split up your 5.1 track to 6 mono tracks and route each to the same stereo-aux, routing L-left, R-right, C-center, Ls-Left (-3dB), Rs-right (-3dB), leave the sub out. You'll probably run into phase issues, but for monitoring it should be fine.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2011, 06:44 AM
clint bennett clint bennett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 95
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

No need to split the track up. Just create a fold down mixer within the session. Create 1 5.1 Bus (call it Fold or HP or something).

Create subpaths - these can either be all mono or 1 L/R Front stereo, 1 Ls/Rs Rear stereo, 1 Ctr, 1 LFE.

One you have this bus made, on the 5.1 track you'd like to hear (or perhaps many tracks, doesn't matter), just create a send to this new 5.1 bus, probably keep it post fader, and put the fader at unity.

Create 4 aux tracks (2 stereo 2 mono, or all mono) in your session label them fold or whatever. Assign the inputs to L/R Front, Ls/Rs, Ctr, LFE. Assign the outputs of the FOLD auxes to your main L/R Laptop bus out (whatever that may be for you).

Adjust the volume of the Ls/Rs, Ctr, & Sub to taste.

This can always co-exist in your session without hurting anything or causing you to change your setup when jumping from a surround room to your laptop.

-clint
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2011, 09:27 AM
matbiv matbiv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 8
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Thanks Meads but i forget to say that i didn't want to split the tracks.
And Clint Bennett, your solution is exactly what i was looking for. i just tried it, and it works perfectly.
Thank you all for helping me,

Matt (a little less newbie than yesterday!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2011, 10:37 AM
pneyrinck's Avatar
pneyrinck pneyrinck is offline
Neyrinck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 177
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

If you have the Complete Production Toolkit, the SoundCode Stereo plug-in is bundled with it so you can monitor in stereo by inserting it on your 5.1 mix bus.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2011, 04:01 PM
matbiv matbiv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 8
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

to HD2

Sorry, your were right too, it's what i need!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-04-2011, 09:40 AM
clint bennett clint bennett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 95
Default Re: 5.1 tracks on a laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by pneyrinck View Post
If you have the Complete Production Toolkit, the SoundCode Stereo plug-in is bundled with it so you can monitor in stereo by inserting it on your 5.1 mix bus.
Hi Paul,

Yes, I use that as well and it is very handy. It's too bad that there isn't a way to have it live on a master 5.1 output when on the laptop. When in a surround room with multichannel hardware the plugin is really nice in that you can be listening to your surround mix and then just un-bypass the plug and it will do the fold right there. If I move the same session to a laptop and only have the 2 outs, that main out is no longer available at all (since the hardware won't support it).

You have to set up an AUX as your main 5.1 out initially and then it's a little less elegant (but still works). You can do the fold by placing the 5.1/stereo instance of the plug on the AUX and it will then allow you to select the stereo outs.

I just suggested the manual method of creating the fold mixer because he had said in an earlier post that he was using an HD asset which seemed to suggest he did not have CPTK (and your excellent plug).
-clint
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
M-box and laptop...can this Laptop handle it? TonserPerson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-25-2005 08:21 AM
How many tracks with Reason2.5 on laptop? tapani 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-24-2005 01:12 PM
buying a laptop /HELP!!/I did read the laptop post psus15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-02-2004 01:32 PM
002 @ 96K on G4 Laptop... how many tracks? tlester 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-05-2003 12:10 AM
Tracks for live show...Laptop or 19" HD recorder? netsucka Tips & Tricks 2 07-22-2002 02:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com