Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-2022, 09:33 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default MTRX Card stock?

Hi all,

I've been trying to get some cards for my MTRX but they seem to be out of stock in the UK.

I ordered an AES3 card but it arrived without the breakout cable and there is no expected date for the breakout cable to arrive so it is pretty much useless until it does.

The next idea was to use another 8 channel AD card but they are also out of stock.

Is something up with MTRX card stock at the moment?

Any input appreciated.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2022, 10:35 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,949
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Greetings,

The breakout cables for the AES3 expansion card for MTRX are separate line items (since there are options - XLR or DB25) which are not included with the card.

Certainly supply chain is making it challenging to source various MTRX expansion parts.


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:16 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Greetings,

The breakout cables for the AES3 expansion card for MTRX are separate line items (since there are options - XLR or DB25) which are not included with the card.

Certainly supply chain is making it challenging to source various MTRX expansion parts.

best,

Jeff
Hi Jeff,

Why do most vendors advertise the card comes with the breakout?

https://westlakepro.com/product/avid...-aes3-io-card/

'Comes with AES3 breakout cable'.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:26 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,949
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

That's not correct. I'll make sure that is communicated back to WLP as you would need to know which variant you were including IF you were including. Here are the 2:


https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._mtrx_aes.html

https://vintageking.com/avid-pro-too...reak-out-cable

(also the wrong image FYI - it should have 2x the connectors)


best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:43 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Thank you,

no I am not using that company for the purchase.

The vendor I used is in the UK.
I don’t seem to be able to get the breakout cable, either of them, for love nor money. I have been informed that there is no expected date of delivery, other than to wait… How long? I do not know. Meanwhile a £2000 card sits unused.

So I will have to return the AES3 card because I cannot use it without some form of break out.

I have also been informed by several UK vendors that 8 channel AD cards are also out of stock until Q1 2023. True?

Is it also true that the DAD AX32 equivalent card uses a different type of connector to the card and therefore the DAD branded breakout cable will not work with the MTRX AES3?
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:45 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Sorry for the 3rd degree.

I’ve been told contradictory things by a number of UK vendors, there seems to be no real consensus on what is happening with Avid stock for the MTRX, or any expected date of delivery, or what cable comes with what card, or what cables work between MTRX and DAD.

It is very helpful to know that one of the breakout cables is wrong, because I had wondered why the two different breakout cables add up to a different channel count.

Avid’s documentation for the MTRX option cards is not terribly illuminating either.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:49 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,949
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

No worries. PM me if you have someone who could make a cable for you.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-28-2022, 01:56 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
No worries. PM me if you have someone who could make a cable for you.

best,

Jeff
I can make cables but no idea where to get that High Density connector.
Will PM you, cheers.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2022, 02:28 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,602
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Not sure, but I may actually have some unused cables like what you need here. Got too many a year ago for my MTRX. Not for sure but happy to check. I am just recovering from a surgery I had over the holidays, so let me know.
Not sure what length you need but will dig in a while after I finish my PT.
Jeff Komar knows me btw.. G
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2022.10 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™ Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey 12.6.2, Digital Perf 11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.6 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-29-2022, 02:24 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 487
Default Re: MTRX Card stock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gives View Post
Not sure, but I may actually have some unused cables like what you need here. Got too many a year ago for my MTRX. Not for sure but happy to check. I am just recovering from a surgery I had over the holidays, so let me know.
Not sure what length you need but will dig in a while after I finish my PT.
Jeff Komar knows me btw.. G
Thank you, let me see if I can make this cable up myself but if that isn’t possible I will PM you.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX in stock anywhere? basehead617 Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 3 05-04-2022 11:30 AM
MTRX Studio tuning v MTRX SQP card Goombot Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 9 07-15-2021 12:00 PM
FS: MTRX 2x 8 Line Input Pristine Card 1x MTRX SPQ Card antonis Buy & Sell 9 04-11-2020 07:47 AM
dual monitor card on stock 9600? robi3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-25-2001 07:34 PM
Replacing stock 9600/350 (upgraded G3/400) video card Marco Migliari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-13-2000 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com