Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:38 AM
TheBaron TheBaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 192
Default New system, can't find hard drive after "Basic" re-formatting.

Hello guys,

I finally built a new computer and I'm currently getting pt up and running. I ran into that common issue of my second drive being dynamic (not recording). I followed the instructions to delete it and re-format it as "basic". However, now I can't see the hard drive at all.

This is probably more of a basic windows question rather than protools but do you have any tips on how to get my newly formatted basic hard drive to show up?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:50 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: New system, can't find hard drive after "Basic" re-formatting.

Did you actually format the drive? Or did you just initialize it?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:51 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,554
Default Re: New system, can't find hard drive after "Basic" re-formatting.

Right-click on MyComputer and select Manage, select Disk Management and look for the drive there. If you see it there(and not under MyComputer) then maybe a formatting error is to blame so you may have to delete the partition and reformat(a QUICK format might be okay there). If you don't see it at all, maybe you have a connection issue so I would be checking cables.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:56 AM
TheBaron TheBaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 192
Default Re: New system, can't find hard drive after "Basic" re-formatting.

I did a full re-format. It took quite awhile.

I went into manage and couldn't see it at all. The partition isn't showing up at all. I only see the C hard drive and my cd rom drive.

Thanks for the quick response. I'll check the cables and cross my fingers...but I fear that's not it since I could see it when it was dynamic.
I'm at work now and it's killing me. I'm dying to get home and get things fixed!

How do I re format it if I can't see it in the "manage" area?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2008, 09:55 PM
TheBaron TheBaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 192
Default Re: New system, can't find hard drive after "Basic" re-formatting.

Well turns out restart didn't do the trick. I had to turn the computer fully off then back on before the computer would see it in the manager. Thanks for your help guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! Problem with the Glyph GT 050 (GT0501F200) 200 GB Hard Drive "Not Valid..." Nikizzle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-20-2011 12:47 AM
"system could not find path" drorsh4 Windows 0 05-16-2011 02:36 PM
Lacie Hard Drive "not a valid audio volume" katiegrey Storage Subsystems 0 06-14-2010 11:55 AM
Cannot change internal hard drive to "playback" volume playsguitars 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-13-2008 01:50 PM
After PTLE reinstall my hard drive "is not an audio playback volume" spudnik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-11-2003 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com