Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2008, 11:24 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Am i the only person that gets persistent buffer errors with sample based VI's

Hi all, i have been struggling with this issue for many months now and i just don't seem to be able to find many others in the same boat.

Every time i boot up my machine and load a session with a sample based VI (Structure LE, Kontakt Player etc) i get a buffer error at the point where the session reaches the VI:

-9073 = Original Mbox
-6086 = 002R

From here on i can tend to resume playback but the buffer errors can crop up at any time, noticeably after i've changed patch.

I've tried restoring my Macbook back to OSX 10.4.9 running a standard 7.4 install with only Structure LE additionally installed and i still get the error. Even if it's only one midi track and structure in the session it still throws it.

My system is completely optimized as per the thread and i record to an external FW drive.

Anyone found a way round this one?
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2008, 11:40 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Am i the only person that gets persistent buffer errors with sample based VI's

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dougfather View Post
My system is completely optimized as per the thread and i record to an external FW drive.
Yeah, but are you pulling the samples off the Laptop's internal drive? If so, that might be the origin or your errors, especially if you're using several different samples or any samples that are especially large in size. Those internal laptop drives aren't really up to snuff for anything access-intensive, especially since they have to share operations with the OS.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2008, 11:44 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Am i the only person that gets persistent buffer errors with sample based VI's

Slim are you using a Mac Pro or a Powermac G5.

I've tried pulling my samples from the external firewire drive and it doesn't help, if you don't get this problem then my suspicion is that this is an intel mac related issue?
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2008, 11:48 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Am i the only person that gets persistent buffer errors with sample based VI's

Mac Pro, with all my samples on a dedicated internal drive (I have 4 SATA drives total). I'm actually running Kontakt 3 in 7.4.2, which is "technically" unsupported by NI (still waiting for Leopard patch), but it's working fine. Setting the playback engine to 1 CPU makes a big difference in stability with it though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64 Sample Buffer and -9171 Errors sws2h Pro Tools 10 2 07-19-2013 08:21 PM
changing audio files from tick based to sample based? levelaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-10-2009 12:41 PM
Progressive RAM usage and sample based VI's beatgorilla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-08-2006 07:08 PM
Buffer errors on Intel based macs Aristocracia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-08-2006 05:54 AM
9094 and 9136 errors with 256 sample buffer size Craige Williamson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-22-2005 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com