Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-19-2022, 07:09 PM
Dolphineas Dolphineas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
According to HP's site, the PSUs available for this computer are 600 or 800. What exact HP computer do you have? List all your exact hardware, too CPU RAM GPU SSD etc. https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/Config...Id=&quantity=1
I actually have the TE01-2275. Not the TE02 which is what you linked. https://www.hp.com/us-en/shop/pdp/hp...e-pc#techSpecs
Doesn't appear to be customizable but I just posted a question there.

My current configuration:
Intel I7-11700 Processor
Nividia 3060 Graphics
64GB RAM
1TB SSD
2TB HDD
400 watt gold power supply.

Sales told me they didn't see anything available above 400 watts and to contact tech support. So I did and they told me they didn't recommend going above 400 watts because it could damage the motherboard or something (which contradicts what I've read online). And then they said they wouldn't be able to tell me if a bigger one was available anyway-- I'd have to learn that from sales. So I'm in a bit of a death loop with HP.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-19-2022, 07:47 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,503
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Wow. That kinda sux. I'd stay on it with HP tech support. Hard to believe they'd underpower it & have no recourse. 400 seems low. Lots of bad stuff can happen if you under power. Ask them about that specifically.

I re-read this thread & it seems you may have missed an optimization or 2? Don't forget ALL the troubleshooting, too!!!


Click "Help Us Help You" at the top of this forum. Navigate to:

Avid Computer Optimizations (for Windows)
For now (i.e. until the problem is isolated) do each-and-every-one of these pesky little steps.

Also, go to
Avid Troubleshooting (for Windows)
For now (i.e. until the problem is isolated) do each-and-every-one of these pesky little steps.

Even if you THINK you've done them all, check em again. Maybe somehow something got re-set wrong. After ALL of the above have been re-re-checked, do this also:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...finity-Windows
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / 4TB WD850X / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / older HP ProBook with i7 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-19-2022, 08:04 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,503
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphineas View Post
...they told me they didn't recommend going above 400 watts because it could damage the motherboard or something ...
Your PC will only consume the power it needs.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / 4TB WD850X / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / older HP ProBook with i7 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-20-2022, 08:33 AM
Dolphineas Dolphineas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Wow. That kinda sux. I'd stay on it with HP tech support. Hard to believe they'd underpower it & have no recourse. 400 seems low. Lots of bad stuff can happen if you under power. Ask them about that specifically.

I re-read this thread & it seems you may have missed an optimization or 2? Don't forget ALL the troubleshooting, too!!!


Click "Help Us Help You" at the top of this forum. Navigate to:

Avid Computer Optimizations (for Windows)
For now (i.e. until the problem is isolated) do each-and-every-one of these pesky little steps.

Also, go to
Avid Troubleshooting (for Windows)
For now (i.e. until the problem is isolated) do each-and-every-one of these pesky little steps.

Even if you THINK you've done them all, check em again. Maybe somehow something got re-set wrong. After ALL of the above have been re-re-checked, do this also:
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...finity-Windows

Thanks! I went through and did everything again this morning. And I'm going to work on HP and see if there's any option for upgrading that power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-23-2022, 09:41 AM
Dolphineas Dolphineas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Hi all,


Just a likely final note on this problem.


First, thank you everyone for your suggestions and help. I've spent a bunch of time optimizing everything, troubleshooting, and learning how to take advantage of the disk cache feature, and system usage window. Pro Tools seems to be working like a charm now. I've learned a lot in the process, so thanks again.


Second, in case you were curious: HP doesn't seem to make a power supply greater than 400 watts for this computer, though they can't give me a definitive "no." Sales told me they have no information and to contact Parts. Parts told me they have no info and to contact Tech support. Tech told me they only see the 400 watt option and to contact "Tier 2" tech support. Tier 2 tech support told me they only do software and to just get on the HP website (lol). So, if the computer seems to be under performing, and the likely cause is the 400 watt power source, then short of switching out the motherboard, my one option will be to go to a less power-hungry graphics card than my current Nvidia GeForce RTX3060. For Pro Tools, that seems like no big deal, though it may diminish performance for video applications like Premiere Pro which I use as well but for pretty simple applications, so I don't think it will matter that much. So that may be in my future. But for now I'm going to roll with this and see how well it does.



Anyway, that's the situation. Many thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-23-2022, 10:17 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,546
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

My thoughts:
#1-you could upgrade the PSU if you are willing to upgrade the case as well. All motherboards (AFAIK) use the same power supply connector and should be one of 3 sizes, ATX, iTX or mini iTX, so the motherboard(and everything else) should able to be installed in a more suitable case(I also feel 400w is too small). ATX is the full-size "standard" and there are dozens of cases to fit.
#2-record to the SSD as a test. If it works well that way, maybe add a second SSD for recording(I'm not against recording to drive C:, but it will get filled up fast).
#3-sample libraries; if they are on the 2TB drive(even in a separate partition), this is a bad thing. A 7200 rpm spinner can do fine for recording, but asking it to do that AND stream samples is a performance killer(and partitioning only makes this worse). If you add a 2nd SSD for sessions, then that 2TB drive will work fine for sample libraries and for backups.
#4-what is your disk cache set to? With lots of RAM, I would set it to 5-6GB. That's what I have on my 6-core i7 with 32GB of RAM and I have no issues running 60-70 tracks with several dozen plugins
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-23-2022, 11:30 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,503
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphineas View Post
... a bunch of time optimizing everything ... Pro Tools seems to be working like a charm now...
Great!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / 4TB WD850X / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / older HP ProBook with i7 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-07-2022, 01:31 PM
Harf71 Harf71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphineas View Post
I've spent a bunch of time optimizing everything, troubleshooting, and learning how to take advantage of the disk cache feature, and system usage window.
That's good to hear. I have a very similar issue (down to the 9073 error only occurring when instruments are played). Was recording to the SSD part of your solution, or did the optimizations do it for you? I think I'm fully optimized, but am triple-checking.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-07-2022, 02:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,530
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

9073 is most usually due to disk problems, and second to plugins that are outdated. Anything else is distant third.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-12-2022, 06:33 PM
Harf71 Harf71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Persistent 9073 Errors

Thanks, JFreak. I've confirmed that my optimizations are all in place and plug-ins are up-to-date, but am still having problems recording to the audio drive, so I'm going to give the SSD a shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Persistent 9073 Errors Dolphineas Pro Tools 0 08-16-2022 10:09 AM
Persistent DAE error 9073 TL4500 Pro Tools 10 40 11-15-2013 10:49 PM
Persistent 9092, 9093, 9094 and 6086 Errors on session playback MBOX2 Micro & Vista Sound Editing MunKee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-24-2009 05:13 PM
Am i the only person that gets persistent buffer errors with sample based VI's The Dougfather 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-12-2008 11:48 AM
DAE (-9073) errors once and for all... samuelowen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-18-2005 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com