Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2021, 11:13 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

Is there a Chart that shows Sample Rate & Sample Latency?

I did a Search & didnít find one? I Googled it & found a general Chart on Sweetwater for most DAWS.. But Iím hoping for something more specific.

Thanks,

Last edited by larsongs; 03-27-2021 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2021, 04:16 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Sample Rate & Sample Latency Chart

Iím using an upgraded mid 2012 MBP, ProTools 10 & Presonus 16.4.2 system.

Iím doing virtual recording Projects with several Musicians.. Each has different Gear.. Pro Tools, Logic & even GarageBand as well as Different Interfaces Computers & OS..

We all agreed to record & send each other Tracks at 128 Sample Rate..

The person who initiates the first Guide Track also sends the Click they used. Because the Tracks arenít always in sync on each of our DAWS. weíre finding it a reoccurring issue weíre running into on almost every Project we do?

Weíre all using 128 Sample Rate. The question that has arisen is, what is your Sample Latency rate? I canít find it on my System or online or here...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2021, 04:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,457
Default Re: Sample Rate & Sample Latency Chart

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsongs View Post
128 Sample Rate
There is no such thing. You must be referring to native playback buffer. It has nothing to do with how the audio is aligned in session after you stop recording.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2021, 09:55 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Sample Rate & Sample Latency Chart

Yes. Apologies if I wasnít clear. I meant Buffer Size - 128 Samples...

Iím doing virtual Recording Sessions with multiple Musicians & emailing Tracks to each other. Weíre using Shared Folders in Google Drive.

if weíre all recording at the same Buffer Size & Sample Rate, even if weíre using different DAWS, should we be having latency issues wit each otherís Tracks?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2021, 10:33 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

Iíve done virtual recording with many Musicians around the Country with no issues.

Iím currently recording with 4 other guys. We agreed to record at Buffer rate 128 Samples.. WAV Files.

I donít think weíre using a lot of plugins but Iím clarifying that to be sure. Maybe a little EQ, Compression & Reverb on Vocal in the recording stage.

We upload our Tracks to a Project Folder in Google Drive to share.

We start with a 4 Count on all songs. Generally I initiate the Songs with a Click, which I include as an Audio Track, a Guide Rhythm Guitar & Scratch Vocal.

The Drummer uploads the Tracks & tells me my Click Track isnít in sync with his?

Any idea whatís going on?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2021, 10:45 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,457
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

If you are really so new to this, why not record that click track as audio and first share that track with everyone? That way everyone has sync
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2021, 10:17 AM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

Not new to this.. been doing it for years.. I record with guys all over the Country without any issues..

But, with regard to this Group....

I do record an audio Track of my Click & send it to all... We all agree to record at same Buffer size 128 Sample rate.. And same BPM...

This Group consists of extremely talented Musicians. We Record Covers in the same Keys & BPM as the Records.. Sometimes we're trying to sound just like the Record, sometimes we embellish a bit.. But, usually stay pretty accurate..

I'd be happy to email you an MP3 or 2...

If we're all doing the same thing it doesn't seem like we should have latency issues.. Regadless whether I'm using Pro Tools & they're using Logic.. I've recorded with other guys with Logic with no issues..

I'm perplexed that the Audio Click Track i send doesn't sync with the Drummers???

Anyone have any idea what's going on?

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2021, 10:24 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,457
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

You can set up a download if you wish me to take a look/listen but if you have your click track as audio then any tempo mapping or playback buffer has absolutely zero influence to what someone records while listening to that audio track. Only thing that may screw things up is sample rate mismatch. If some drummer is thinking he is playing to your click and has wrong sampling rate on session, then the recording will playback too slow or too fast on your system.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2021, 04:00 PM
larsongs larsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

I’m looking for a simple work around.

It sounds like the idea of the initial person that begins the Project including an Audio Track of his Click Track along with his initial Tracks & everyone recording to that instead of their DAW’s Click would be the most simple.. And, of course, keeping the Audio Click Track as a Part of the Project for any future needs..

Any downside you can think of?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2021, 09:58 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,526
Default Re: Buffers Size, Sample Rate & Sample Latency??

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsongs View Post
Iím looking for a simple work around.

It sounds like the idea of the initial person that begins the Project including an Audio Track of his Click Track along with his initial Tracks & everyone recording to that instead of their DAWís Click would be the most simple.. And, of course, keeping the Audio Click Track as a Part of the Project for any future needs..

Any downside you can think of?

Thanks
I haven't seen it mentioned in the thread yet, but how are you assuring all the tracks stay together in time? I would expect that as everyone contributes in this workflow, they all need provide audio files that start at time 0, or bar 1 beat 1. If everyone provides files that start at the same place, then everyone else can spot those files to the same starting point in their session and all will be good. In Pro Tools, there is the consolidation command that will let you consolidate everything on a track from your starting point to the end in one file.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.3, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hopefully an easy one for you guys: Opening 8 KHz sample rate / 16 bit sample size sample Pro Tools 11 2 02-24-2016 01:04 PM
What sample rate is everyone using? innermusic Pro Tools 10 36 02-26-2012 05:29 PM
Focusrite Saffire 56 Sample Rate Problems - Sample rates changing during start up finalcut Windows 12 02-20-2012 04:00 AM
MBox Micro Sample Max Sample Rate Only 48 kHz? Joe Sciacca 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-07-2008 12:52 PM
Bit Rate/Sample Rate problem? The chipmunks? bspro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-17-2008 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com