Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2015, 08:03 AM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 740
Default PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Hey there.

Just checking to see if anyone has had any problems if they updated to El Capitan....

Thanks,

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2015, 08:58 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky1 View Post
Hey there.

Just checking to see if anyone has had any problems if they updated to El Capitan....

Thanks,

Sparky
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Keep an eye on this page.

And be sure to check with ALL of your plugin manufacturers before making the jump. And even then, be sure to clone your working drive in case anything goes wrong and you need to revert.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2015, 10:03 AM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 740
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Keep an eye on this page.

And be sure to check with ALL of your plugin manufacturers before making the jump. And even then, be sure to clone your working drive in case anything goes wrong and you need to revert.
Drew:

Ah yes - keep forgetting about plugin compatibility as well...

Thanks for the "heads up"

Sparky
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2015, 12:02 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

some of the FCPX users I know are having problems so...
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2015, 02:39 PM
JChance JChance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 231
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

I've been using 11.3.1 on El Capitan the past few days on a late-2014 Mac Mini with no problems so far.
I'm not an engineer, however...just a musician & occasional producer with an edit/overdub desk.

If you are recording clients or mixing daily, it's probably wise to stay on 10.10 for a while...especially since Avid has said 11.3.2 is the end of the line. I almost doubt that PT 11 will ever see official support at all for El Capitan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2015, 05:21 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,551
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Take heed in the old saying: those that live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.

Unless you have a pressing reason to go to ElCapitan stay away until it gets smoothed out. Too many issues to be had with any new OSX right out of the gate.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2015, 05:26 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,485
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Take heed in the old saying: those that live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.

Unless you have a pressing reason to go to ElCapitan stay away until it gets smoothed out. Too many issues to be had with any new OSX right out of the gate.
Well put
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-03-2015, 10:29 PM
Sparky1 Sparky1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 740
Default Re: PT 11.1.1 & El Capitan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Take heed in the old saying: those that live on the bleeding edge are doomed to get cut by it.
I like the saying

Sparky
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S3 and El Capitan - no go Cliffy_Boy Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 9 11-16-2015 06:27 AM
PT12 and El Capitan Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools 12 64 10-26-2015 06:12 AM
El Capitan mastertstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 21 10-25-2015 02:55 PM
El Capitan OSX Becharax General Discussion 30 10-07-2015 02:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com