Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2010, 11:35 AM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default DAE 1115 With Vostro 3700

Hi guys and gals!

To start off, I just purchased a new laptop (not for the reason of Pro Tools), and would like to see if I can run PT on it.

The problem I'm having is the DAE 1115 error upon start up, but if I close PT out and try to start it again, it will load. Not sure why though. I'm running XP 32 bit on a partitioned internal drive, with the other partitioned side running Windows 7 32bit.

The problem during install tells me that the driver was not installed properly and might not work correctly. Unless I missed something, I can't see a reason why it wont work right or why it wont install right. I've attached the Sandra report to see if anyone has some clues to this mystery! Thanks a for any help in advance!

Tom

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Vostro 3700
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : studio
User : Thom

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 520 @ 2.40GHz
Speed : 2.53GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 4 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 07VWR8
BIOS : Dell A01 02/10/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 133MHz (133MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-H9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-H9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (32 SP, 1GB DDR3, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
PLDS DVD+/-RW DS-8A4S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (D:) : 368GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 98GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ PLDS DVD+/-RW DS-8A4S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell HM57 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond WPCE775LA
Audio Device : Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7605h
Audio Device : Dell High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Disk Controller : Dell P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Dell P55/PM55/3400 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Dell E822h
USB Controller 1 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell E832h
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2010, 03:53 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,826
Default Re: DAE 1115 With Vostro 3700

Since you only have one hard drive. that has to be addressed first, and DELL FW controllers don't talk well with PT. So you'd need a Cardbus adapter with a TI chipset in it, to control a firewire drive with an oxford chipset in it. None of us is much of a fan of DELL laptops, though. And WIn 7-64 bit is a crapshoot too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2010, 08:27 AM
TreySatre TreySatre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: DAE 1115 With Vostro 3700

Did you ever manage to get PT running on your Vostro 3700 because I'm thinking of buying one imminently?

Did you successfully use the Firewire port or resort to the eSATA or Express Card even?

Guidance appreciated here since I've literally spent weeks researching most cost effective solution to support PT.

Thanks

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2010, 02:14 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: DAE 1115 With Vostro 3700

Search User Name epu. He has had great success with Lenovo laptops.

You will need a separate physical drive for your recording sessions; eSATA would be best to get around any chipset issues. A Western Digital Caviar Balck with the 32 or even better 64 mb cache would also be best.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 rack - Dell VOSTRO 1710 ADSD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 09-17-2009 01:53 PM
dell vostro 410 ok for protools? DSG LABEL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-01-2009 01:32 PM
-9093 error problems on DELL Vostro 1510 ,Help TongWunFung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-02-2009 07:39 AM
Dell A860 Vostro Laptop? TDub 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-25-2009 01:34 PM
Dell Vostro 1510 Work Well With LE ? Urgent TongWunFung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-31-2008 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com