Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2012, 10:24 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Talking Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

Anybody using these.???? How do you like them ?

Very Playable? I am looking for a more realistic sound.....to track with then my samples in Structure.....

and to be quite honest i don't want to mic my bass cab and/or record direct.... I am hooked on midi...I can tweek the sound so much after the fact (and I don't have to tune)

So how do you like them??? Let me know.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2012, 11:36 AM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

I have Pre and Jay Bass. The layout IMO opinion is counter intuitive, particularly for a keyboard player like me (I like Trilian's layout better). So, it took me a while to get into them. I use them when looking for a particular sound. BTW, Scarbee did a very nice job with the sound and detail. Scarbee Basses are not the end for me, but they fit well into my VI arsenal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2012, 09:53 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default

Very cool - so they are pretty realistic as far as sound detail, that's good -

I would like to get native instruments to give me a demo because the pre-base I just don't like the sound - I love a precision bass live (which I play) but I don't like the sound on their demo videos -

thank you for your input
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:11 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 532
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

Trillian just blows them away.

I put the Scarbee Basses on my offline drive. When I upgrade again I'll probably delete them...

Rubicon
__________________
IMDB
ITunes

MP 2019 28 core, 384gb 8T
10.15.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2012, 07:13 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubicon View Post
Trillian just blows them away.

I put the Scarbee Basses on my offline drive. When I upgrade again I'll probably delete them...

Rubicon
Have you tried to use Trilian for slap/pop bass? I struggle a bit to get it to sound "natural".
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2012, 10:11 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default

I will look for trillian but that's what I am looking for a natural sounding electric bass

Something to replace the lame stuff in structure - that stuff sounds like the freaking Seinfeld musical introduction - pure keyboard bass - I need a emulation of a real electric bass
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2012, 07:39 AM
JChance JChance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 231
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

I bought the Scarbee Pre Bass around Christmas on impulse. Mainly out of curiosity...
The kicker is, I was a bass major in college! My excuse was that my keyboard skills are horrible, and I just wanted to "diversify" & experiment

Moral of the story is, I don't really use it. It's not that it sounds "bad..." It's ok.
I think it's super bright, though. And I'm too lazy to learn the intricate keyboard tricks to make it play nice.

If you want to try it out for cheap, I'd probably be willing to sell my license for roughly 1/2 what it cost.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-29-2012, 09:08 AM
Rubicon's Avatar
Rubicon Rubicon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 532
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

I just did some slap bass with Trillian last week. It sounded really good as well as the fills I did. Does the Scarbee slap basses sound as meaty?

Rubicon
__________________
IMDB
ITunes

MP 2019 28 core, 384gb 8T
10.15.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-29-2012, 12:07 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JChance View Post
.

If you want to try it out for cheap, I'd probably be willing to sell my license for roughly 1/2 what it cost.
How does native instruments do it's licensing ? will i have to pay them to transfer the license after I purchase it from you?
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2012, 12:49 PM
JChance JChance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nashville
Posts: 231
Default Re: Native Instruments. - Scarbee Basses

A while back, I ended up with an extra copy of Guitar Rig 4 that I sold. If I remember right, it was as simple as filling out a Native Instruments license transfer form & no additional cost. I'll double check to make sure.
Shoot me an email if you're interested. No worries if not.

jfcgtr74 at comcast dot net
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Native Instruments - xfer fee for instruments? YYR123 Virtual Instruments 3 10-13-2013 04:47 PM
SCARBEE INSTRUMENTS AND SOUND COMPATABLE WITH STRUCTURE 22pirate Virtual Instruments 2 05-10-2008 10:58 PM
Native Instruments: get your s**t together ! phil2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-16-2007 08:36 PM
native instruments LadyElectrikStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-27-2004 02:39 PM
Native Instruments Musichead 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-23-2002 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com