Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2010, 11:53 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Just a quick note before I get into this whole thing; If I want to open Pro Tools 9 on my laptop and play audio from my laptop speakers I can with using AISO4ALL. I get audio playback and everything - no errors. PT9 is very solid (at least using ASIO4ALL) on my laptop which is a dell Vostro 3700. I'm using a 4 Gig Flash drive to play my sessions on my laptop.

Well here goes nothing,

I installed the drivers for the mbox pro from avid's website.
I open pro tools and go to play a session.....All I get is the stop/play button flash and it says pause at the bottom of my session.

When I try to change the buffer rate from within Pro Tools (not the mbox control panel) Say from 1024 to 512, I get a message that says something about something else is using my audio device, please disable it and press ok (something along the lines like that). The problem is I don't know what is or would be using it.

Anyways then I get an error of 6117....I can't for the life of me find that anywhere. So, I decided I may have missed something and started from scratch. Completely wiped Pro Tools off my computer, took out the mbox drivers and started over again.

Installed Mbox drivers
Installed Pro Tools
Get it all going and I'm back at the play pause issue again. If I try to change the buffer setting, same thing, a message about another program using my mbox and I should disable it, and then I get the DAE -6117 code, and Pro Tools shuts down.

If I open my Mbox control panel, I can visibly see audio being streamed through it when I use iTunes using the 1/8'' jack on the back. So I'm curious could it be the firewire cable I'm using? I'm using the 6pin to 4pin (that was included with the mbox) to connect to my laptop. Attached is my Sandra Report. Anyone have suggestions?

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Dell Vostro 3700
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Studio-PC
User : Studio

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 520 @ 2.40GHz
Speed : 2.53GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 3MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 4 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Dell 07VWR8
BIOS : Dell A04 05/21/2010
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 3GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Dell Core (Auburndale/Havendale) DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 1x 133MHz (133MHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-H9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Hynix (Hyundai) HMT125S6BFR8C-H9 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10700S DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (32 SM4.1, 1GB DDR3, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M (32SP, 986.3MB)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
Patriot Memory (4GB, USB, SSD) : 4GB (G:)
PLDS DVD+/-RW DS-8A4S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (D:) : 98GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Removable Drive (G:) : 4GB (NTFS) @ Patriot Memory (4GB, USB, SSD)
Hard Disk (C:) : 368GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ PLDS DVD+/-RW DS-8A4S (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell HM57 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond WPCE775LA
Audio Device : Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Integrated Device Tech 7605h
Audio Device : Dell High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Disk Controller : Dell P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Dell P55/PM55/3400 2 port SATA IDE Controller
Disk Controller : Dell PCIe SD/MMC Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Dell E832h
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Color LaserJet 2800 Series PS (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MF4360-4390 (600x600)
Printer : HP LaserJet 4000 Series PCL6 (1200x1200)
Printer : EPSON Stylus NX400 Series (360x360, USB, Colour)

Peripherals
Media Player : Patriot Memory (3.73GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Wireless Adapter 1 : DW1520 Wireless-N Half-Mini Card (802.11g (ERP), TKIP, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7600
Platform Compliance : x86

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:27 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Wow, nobody yet? DigiTechSupt? Any knowledge of this issue? Maybe there is an article out there I haven't seen for this problem?
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2011, 04:45 PM
varga.tamas.88 varga.tamas.88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4
Question Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Hello guys,

I have the same issue and error (PT9/W7/M-audio ProFire 2626), but during RECORD. I just set up the system, I started recording the session using 6 microphones, it kept on recording until suddenly sound STOPPED, however, recording did not stop seemingly(it kept on drawing the tracks in "red" like normally, the counter keeps going, but all the waveforms of the tracks looks like they've been cut, and as I said, it keeps recording the tracks, but it records silence after this point.)

This error comes up after different time intervalls, sometimes it lasted 10-12 minutes fine, but sometimes I had to restart recording 3 times in 10 minutes (interrupting the tracks of the concert of course,making most of them useless) ...

And after theese immediate stops it usually shows the same "flashing buttons" issue too, when I can't restart recording (and playback neither), when I hit the play button after REC enable, the stop and play buttons flash, and then nothing happens. I could seemingly solve this problem by checking the "Ignore errors during playback/record" box in/or out in the playback engine setup menu, it mostly worked, but only for a few minutes, when the same thing happened again, until it showed up the "DAE error - 6117" message, and the same thing about "some other application is already using it, close that or restart pro tools...".

So I had to interrupt the recording 6-7 times, and restart PT9 2 times during the One hour concert...

It is a very embarassing issue I want to solve, as already two of my recordings gone because of it. After the previous event I experienced the same, today I tried out the whole system at home before I went to record the event, I set up the same full recording system what I used in the evening, recorded about 10-15 minutes, and was no problem, and I thought everything is fine... But this issue killed most of the tracks of tonights concert..

Could anyone please help me, how to solve this problem? What can be the reason? I did not find any articles according to this error code "DAE - 6117".

I use 6 to 6 pin FireWire cable to connect my interface to the notebook.

Thank you in advance,

Cheers,

T.

------------------------------------------------------------
System Details
Sony Vaio VPCF12Z1E

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Intel® Core™ i7-740QM Processor
Memory Size (GB): 8
Memory Specification: PC3-10600
Memory Speed (MHz): 1333
Memory Type: DDR3 SDRAM

Hard Drive Type: Serial ATA
Hard Drive Capacity (GB): 500
Hard Drive Speed (rpm):7200

Interface: M-Audio Profire 2626

ProTools 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2011, 09:18 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Hey V, I still can't get it to work on my laptop at all after doing every configuration I can think of (which has been a lot!). ASIO4ALL still works flawlessly. Honestly, I gave up on it. I just bring my desktop with keyboard and monitor with me if I record elsewhere because I can't afford a $2500 laptop to guarantee for it to work.

If you do find out how to get it fixed let me know! Maybe I'll give it another whirl here soon this weekend.

Its just a shame that a free driver some random guy made works with Pro Tools better than Avid's own hardware on my laptop.
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2011, 08:35 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,859
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

I see 2 problems with the Sandra report. 1-there is no separate recording drive(a partition of the system drive not only doesn't count, it actually works worse than simply recording to the C: drive), and 2-Dell firewire is likely not compatible. Hopefully you have a card slot where you can insert an approved firewire interface card PCMCIA or ExpressCard)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2011, 01:26 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Albee, My external drive was not plugged in when I did the Sandra report. Its a dual boot system only with Pro Tools 9 being on the other partition and optimized accordingly as the guide says. The other partition is for my work.

As far as the Dell Firewire, I don't really use it; outside of trying it a couple times to see what the results are and they are the same as using a SIIG card (the approved one from Avid) and I still get the same errors.

That's whats getting me, I honestly think its a small tweak somewhere to make it work. But I havent got a clue, I spent so much time trying every little possible detail/combination (I kept track of everything I did on a legal pad), that I decided to take a break from it and try again later so I can work on it without frustration and a fresh mind.
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2011, 02:32 PM
persuader's Avatar
persuader persuader is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

I can suggest couple of things.

First I suggest you disable the onbord sounddevice
in your BIOS settings.
Audio Device : Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio

Maybe also disable you network?

Then I see your BIOS version is one year old.
Is there a newer one on the Dell website?
Be very carefull if you decide to flash your bios.

good luck
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2011, 02:38 PM
varga.tamas.88 varga.tamas.88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

So recording to an external drive may solve the problem? (I recorded to a partition of the system drive too[but not to C: drive of course])
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2011, 04:41 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Quote:
Originally Posted by varga.tamas.88 View Post
So recording to an external drive may solve the problem? (I recorded to a partition of the system drive too[but not to C: drive of course])
Are you saying your operating system is NOT on the C: drive?

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward

Last edited by The Weed; 07-25-2013 at 05:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-29-2011, 01:09 AM
persuader's Avatar
persuader persuader is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: PT9/W7 Mbox Pro 3 playback issue...DAE -6117???

Quote:
Originally Posted by varga.tamas.88 View Post
So recording to an external drive may solve the problem? (I recorded to a partition of the system drive too[but not to C: drive of course])
According to AVID it might be even worse to record to a second partion on a single Hdd system You should absoltley have a second disc to record to. On
lap top that would be Firewire For Mac and SATA or USB 2 drives 7200 rpm for Windows
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox playback issue rygundo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-18-2009 08:00 AM
mbox 2 pro audio/playback issue!! 2ooster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-17-2008 12:00 PM
playback issue in Mbox trueblue2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-20-2006 04:44 PM
Mbox Playback issue cowasoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-07-2005 07:17 AM
PT/Mbox playback issue...PLEASE HELP! Danny M. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-21-2003 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com