Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:51 PM
wuzlow wuzlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 33
Default DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

Hi, I was wondering if there are any other approved firewire cables that are approved for the use of a 003 that are shorter than 12 ft. I'm trying to get a mobile rig going, but looking at only having maybe a 3 to 6 foot cable tops. Also is there any that are approved in that length for a 6pin to 6pin cable as well as a 6pin to 4pin cabe?

Will any firewire cable work? Thanks for any help you can provide!

Tom
__________________
Tom

Dell XPS 420 Desktop
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.40Ghz - 3 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Dell Vostro 3700 Laptop
Core i5 M 520 @ 2.40Ghz - 4 Gigs of RAM
Windows 7 Ultimate 32Bit

Pro Tools 9
003 Factory
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2010, 03:27 PM
binty binty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Idiot Nation on Flouride
Posts: 121
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/FIW-46-106/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2010, 08:24 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,548
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuzlow View Post
Will any firewire cable work?
Tom
It should, just remember the old adage "you get what you pay for".
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:07 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,436
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

http://www.granitedigital.com/firewi...ticcables.aspx
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2010, 08:58 AM
hookiefree hookiefree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DC Metro Area
Posts: 346
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

Not to hijack or anything but if you wouldn't mind, where is the Digi approved hardware list? I need a new computer and all I can find is the compatible OS chart.
__________________
It's finally starting to come together
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2010, 01:45 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,800
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

Quote:
Originally Posted by hookiefree View Post
Not to hijack or anything but if you wouldn't mind, where is the Digi approved hardware list? I need a new computer and all I can find is the compatible OS chart.
I think you're looking for this:

At Avid.com, go to 'Support & Services'>'Find Answers'>'Knowledgebase - Audio'.

The 'Search In' drop downs should narrow things down quite a bit. For compatibility info, select 'Pro Tools HD' in the second drop-down (Digidesign should already be selected in the top-most drop-down), leave 'All Digidesign Hardware' in the 3rd drop-down and, in the last one, select 'Compatibility'. No need to enter anything in the keyword search. Hit 'search' and you should get a list of relevant info - the top two results I got were the Mac and Windows compatibility info pages for HD.

FWIW - we don't test or approve any specific firewire cables.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2010, 08:41 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,828
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

Monster firewire cables are 7 feet, and work great. They have both 6 to 6 pin and 6 to 4 pin (FW 400 only).

You can buy them online or they're usually in stock at Sam Ash stores.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2010, 11:47 PM
Culhane Culhane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 66
Default Re: DigiTechSupt, Firewire cables

That sounds reasonable, but I tried it for ProTolls LE on 003 rack, and got two results:
hard drives for Mac and 7.4 ASIO driver issue for Vista .....

Unless I am missing something, there is no current "official" posted hardware, such as motherboard/CPU specifications from Avid.
This does not include extensive recommendations in the user forum, which I view as the only real source available here, though they do require a certain amount of searching around it seems. Just don't want to be searching for something that is just not there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire 800-400 cables, 7.4 and Nehelem KamaSutra77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-08-2009 11:23 AM
15' firewire cables, is this ok?? SixChurchStreet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 05-30-2008 04:49 PM
Anyone used the 7.5m/10m Lindy firewire cables?? Tubthumper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-27-2005 04:02 PM
Anyone used the 7.5m/10m Lindy firewire cables? Tubthumper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-27-2005 12:00 AM
DigiTechSupt - Question regarding DigiLink Cables Imagine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-16-2004 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com