Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2004, 02:01 PM
ppuskari2 ppuskari2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, OH
Posts: 51
Default Info needed on Session 8 Studio cable

Hi everyone. I have just recently come into possession of an older Session 8 Studio 3U io box with the two ISA cards, as well as a Session 8 Nubus card.

I have the PC side SCSI cabling, AND even have the rare scsi cable flatpack connector wire for the NUBUS card. Problem is: I do NOT have any of the DIGI IO cables for this interface to either card. From trolling the forumns and the support site and looking at the connectors.

Can I use a standard SCSI-2 HD50 Male to Male connectorized cabled to connect to the cards??? Or do I need a special cable from Digi? I have a standard hd50 to hd50 MtoM cable here but I don't want to blow up the cards or the intefaces before asking..

Any ideas guys and gals?


Thanks,

ppuskari2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2004, 12:34 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 10,136
Default Re: Info needed on Session 8 Studio cable

It is a straight-through, 50-pin, SCSI2-type, shielded twisted pair, 12' cable.

We have these in stock, although you might be able find one elsewhere (it's important to stick with the 12' length, since users have reported problems when using a similar but shorter cable supplied with our ADAT Interface).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:47 PM
ppuskari2 ppuskari2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, OH
Posts: 51
Default Re: Info needed on Session 8 Studio cable

Thanks Jeff for the information! I went ahead and bought a really well shielded generic 6' Scsi-2 HD 50 M to HD 50 M cable and it works great! At least for my purposes. I'll look into the 12' later if need be though.

I am using it on an old Session 8 Nubus card in a Quadra 950 with the Apple PowerPC 66mhz upgrade.

Works great but only up to DAE 3.1.1 Anything higher seems to lock it up fast on init... 3.1.1 seems to work for my needs though. The Studio 8 interface io is GREAT!

One day I'll move up but for now 10 year old technology is working real well!

ppuskari2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Session 8 for mac info, version 2.0 and 882 Studio blackmacdaddy Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 07-03-2020 01:32 PM
Looping Info needed sixstrings22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 04-09-2010 06:47 PM
003 Rack info needed mcgibbon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-20-2009 07:11 AM
Drum info needed jvo11 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 09-09-2005 09:26 AM
DVD specifications, info needed. gerax Post - Surround - Video 7 05-27-2004 11:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com