Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2001, 01:47 AM
jperser jperser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Default Erratic MIDI

I have a Midiman 4x4 Midisport interface. All too often, this device will just stop communicating midi, especially when a cable is plugged into the input and output on the same channel. I don't know if this is a flaky usb midi device or is digi having some wierd midi thing.
All my midi experience is the mac and I've never seen this problem there.

What's the best midi interface device to use to digi?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2001, 11:57 AM
Numachida Numachida is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 292
Default Re: Erratic MIDI

I picked up an 8X8 (Midiman) to use with PTLE and had similar problems to the ones you describe. Also lots of other wierd stuff. Booted Cubase on the same PC, loaded the same MIDI file-everything the same except PTLE-no problems. Currently using Cubase for MIDI-PTLE for audio.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2001, 09:13 AM
jperser jperser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Texas
Posts: 9
Default Re: Erratic MIDI

So have I gotten screwed by going with PTLE? I used to do everything MIDI but have been moving toward audio. Are you using the USB on your 8x8 or the serial connection? I'm wondering if it makes a difference? I was thinking about taking the 4x4 back and getting the 8x8 for use with the serial port. If it does the same thing there then the problem is purely a PTLE one.

I like to work partly in MIDI, some sequencing and then use PTLE to record the audio and do the mixdowns. Is it feasible to do that on the same machine or should I be trying to use 2 pc's for this?

I'm really disappointed in how terrible the MIDI in PTLE really is. I've been using Performer on the Mac for years and there really is no comparison IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2001, 10:23 PM
Numachida Numachida is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 292
Default Re: Erratic MIDI

First let me say that my situation is complicated by two things. I'm using a HUI, and I'm recording to a SCSI drive. I'm sure they aren't helping the situation. PTLE would function just fine without these, but I've got them and I'm going to keep using them. I got the 8x8 specifically for the serial interface. My first USB MIDI interface caused PCI bus busy errors, and Digi recommends a serial interface. All was good with that until I started loading up tracks and plug-ins. Anyway-I love PTLE for audio. No regrets whatsoever. It is a mature, elegant and intuitive piece of software. They will get the MIDI side together. For now it's my console and tape machine. It's OK if it thinks it's too much work to also be a sequencer. How much do you want ONE cpu to do? How about striping one PTLE channel with SMPTE and slaving your Mac with DP to ProTools? Good luck!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi timing erratic even with click on LE 7.3 Greg F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 07-18-2009 04:50 PM
Erratic timing with MIDI Olixka MIDI 2 01-12-2008 09:31 AM
Major issue with erratic midi playback in 7.3 gprs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-29-2007 11:24 AM
LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior LSRdigital 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-06-2003 12:17 PM
PT5 midi erratic whilst bouncing.... johnedmonds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 07-04-2001 05:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com