Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2008, 01:06 AM
Olixka Olixka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Erratic timing with MIDI

MIDI recording / playback in PT M-powered 7.3 is very erratic so I gave up trying to do music with it, and tried just to implement the MIDI click ... on record+playback, in an otherwise empty session.

I'm using PT's inbuilt 'Click' instrument and there are no other MIDI devices connected.

So there should be virtually no demands on the CPU of my 2.6 GHz Windows PC. Delta 66 soundcard. (Audio recording appears to work well.)

The metronome plays much too slowly, and also extremely erratically ...
"click (long pause) click-click-click (short pause) click click (very long
pause) click" etc etc ... completely useless for timekeeping.

It seems to me that the counter is advancing erratically as well. The tiny decimals in the transport window don't advance smoothly.

I've followed all the procedures in the pdf manual and on the instructional
DVD to the best of my ability. Is there some blindingly simple thing I'm overlooking? Could it be related to the dual processor and if so, how do I tackle that? FWIW recording on my old Cakewalk software on the same PC has none of the above problems.

Any help much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2008, 08:51 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Erratic timing with MIDI

Quote:
Could it be related to the dual processor and if so, how do I tackle that?
Yes, this is actually most likely related to the dual-core processor. Have you applied the Microsoft Dual-Core Hotfix for Windows XP? There's a flaw in the operating system; it was never designed for multi-core processors and must be updated to work properly with them. That update is necessary for Pro Tools to function normally when using multi-core procesors.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:31 AM
Olixka Olixka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Erratic timing with MIDI

Thanks very much indeed. The fix worked very well. A great help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi timing erratic even with click on LE 7.3 Greg F 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 07-18-2009 04:50 PM
> PT 8 Intermittent, Erratic Audio Timing Howardk Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 03-12-2009 12:46 AM
LE 6.0.1 introduces erratic midi behavior LSRdigital 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-06-2003 12:17 PM
Erratic MIDI jperser 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-05-2001 10:23 PM
PT5 midi erratic whilst bouncing.... johnedmonds Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 07-04-2001 05:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com