Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2003, 02:12 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 979
Default Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

I have a mix+ system with an adat bridge, 882, motu midi timepiece and a couple ADATs. I currently clock the system from the superclock output of the timepiece into the bridge and then the 882. I am looking to make a good upgrade in conversion and was looking at the Rosetta 800. Of course I would like to use the Apogee as the master clock, but it only has wordclock out and not superclock. I heard that the timepiece is not a great device for a master clock. I was wondering what the best way would be to achieve this. Is the idea of clocking through lightpipe good or should I try to feed wordclock into the timepiece and then send superclock from there. I always found these clocking issues a bit confusing and want to get the best out of the system. Thanks.
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.7.4
PT 2024.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2003, 09:18 AM
sdemott sdemott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 246
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

Have you looked at the Appogee Big Ben?? That might do it for you.
__________________
Steve

Always err on the side of perfection.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2003, 01:55 PM
Rob Aubrey Rob Aubrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southampton. UK
Posts: 139
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

Tell me something I don't know!

I want them both!

ROB
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world..........Those who understand BINARY and those who don't!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2003, 05:14 PM
pookadilly pookadilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

There is no question that for this solution you would want both the Apogee Big Ben for clocking and clock distribution (as well as format conversion) and the Rosetta 800. However, that being said, we do realize that these are expensive items. AudioLot does have a package for both these items purchased together but what I wanted to let you know is that if you first need an unreal clocking system, you can purchase Big Ben without having to purchase the Rosetta 800. This allows you to use the Apogee C777 clocking and have the format conversion options all the up to 192kHz and then when you get a bit more cash (if that is the holdup here, if not ignore all of this and just get them both at the same time) you can purchase the Rosetta 800.

Hope that helps!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2003, 02:18 AM
thin ice thin ice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 979
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

Yes, the Big Ben is definitely on my shopping list, but I really need a converter first and was looking to use that as a clock for now. Anything should be better than my current setup. Also one of the ADATs has PSU problems and is virtually unusable. The reason I did not want to continue to use the MIDI Timepiece for a central clock is because I thought the internal Rosetta clock would be somewhat better. Any ideas what the best way to clock this system would be? Or do you think a Big Ben would make more of a difference bearing in mind the lack of quality converters I have at the moment?
__________________
Mac Mini M1 16 GB
OS 12.7.4
PT 2024.3
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2003, 05:58 AM
digiot digiot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: NYC,NY
Posts: 483
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

Joshua can you tell me what the rosetta 800 lists for and is there a 96K version as well (dont have much need for 192K)
thanks.

Erlin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2003, 10:52 AM
pookadilly pookadilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

The 96kHz lists for $2995 but AudioLot has a deal going on with both standalone purchases of the Rosetta 800 units (either 96kHz or 192kHz) and an amazing deal when you purchase both the Rosetta 800 192kHz and Big Ben. Give us a call to discuss.

(once again, please note that I am answering a question and not spamming the forums)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2003, 06:26 PM
Rob Aubrey Rob Aubrey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southampton. UK
Posts: 139
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

HI

A late night and extensive tests on ROSETTA 800 that arrived this evening!

Conclusion ....the Rosetta clocking is no better than the internal on my YAMAHA 02R (or to look at it another way the YAMMY is as good as the APOGEE ROSETTA 800!!)
Actually quite pleased with this as I didn't want to have to remix everthing that I have done lately knowing that thr ROSETTA made a world of difference (in its clocking ability)

Will have to be persuaded BIG TIME to go for the BIG BEN or I'll let you take the £££PLUNGE££ and borrow it off you ...HO HO!



See my other post on APOGEE or NANOSYNC !

ROB
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world..........Those who understand BINARY and those who don't!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-21-2003, 06:32 PM
pookadilly pookadilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 142
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

I'd be very curious to see where exactly these tests came from because I can almost certainly guarantee you that what you say is not the case at all. I encourage to speak diretly with Apogee on this to confirm these so called "late night tests".

From Apogee's direct tests and my own knowledge I can honestly tell you that the Rosetta 800's sound is second to none and the clocking off of Big Ben is quite simply the best in the industry bar none.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2003, 10:33 PM
DigiGeek DigiGeek is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 198
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 clocking

Quote:
HI

A late night and extensive tests on ROSETTA 800 that arrived this evening!

Conclusion ....the Rosetta clocking is no better than the internal on my YAMAHA 02R (or to look at it another way the YAMMY is as good as the APOGEE ROSETTA 800!!)
Actually quite pleased with this as I didn't want to have to remix everthing that I have done lately knowing that thr ROSETTA made a world of difference (in its clocking ability)

Will have to be persuaded BIG TIME to go for the BIG BEN or I'll let you take the £££PLUNGE££ and borrow it off you ...HO HO!



See my other post on APOGEE or NANOSYNC !

ROB
How did you come to this conclusion?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Rosetta 200 (MINT), Lynx AES16e-SRC, Apogee Duet, BBE 882i, OFFERS ENTERTAINED jrhager84 Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 01:25 AM
Trouble Clocking to Rosetta 200 dubaifox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-10-2008 03:57 AM
Clocking a 96 i/o and and Rosetta 800 CStern Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-30-2006 01:46 PM
Clocking Mix 24 system from Apogee Rosetta 200 slingsby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-24-2006 06:50 AM
Rosetta 800 & clocking MX Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-05-2003 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com