Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2022, 01:46 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,139
Default What Fender amp is this based on?

Fuse Audio Labs is having a Halloween sale and they have this one: https://fuseaudiolabs.com/#/pages/product?id=300849646
Product description says it's based on a 'milestone guitar amp from the 1958-60 era'. From the 'F' it's evident it's a Fender amp and the graphics shows it covered in tweed. Other than that - nothing. No mention of speakers. Would this be a 1959 4x10 Fender Bassman? From the controls I'd hazard a guess if might be as the controls on F59 and the 1959 Bassman LTD in Amplitube both go to 12. Other than that - I'm wondering. I don't know how many amps of the tweed era had controls go to 12.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2022, 03:59 PM
Ghost In The Attic's Avatar
Ghost In The Attic Ghost In The Attic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 795
Default Re: What Fender amp is this based on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Fuse Audio Labs is having a Halloween sale and they have this one: https://fuseaudiolabs.com/#/pages/product?id=300849646
Product description says it's based on a 'milestone guitar amp from the 1958-60 era'. From the 'F' it's evident it's a Fender amp and the graphics shows it covered in tweed. Other than that - nothing. No mention of speakers. Would this be a 1959 4x10 Fender Bassman? From the controls I'd hazard a guess if might be as the controls on F59 and the 1959 Bassman LTD in Amplitube both go to 12. Other than that - I'm wondering. I don't know how many amps of the tweed era had controls go to 12.
Yes, it's a 1959 Fender Bassman.
__________________
Retro 176 (pair), Pultec EQP-1A (pair), Germanium Comps (pair), BAE 10DC (pair), Distressor (pair), Manley Vari-Mu, Sta-Level, Zener, SSL Fusion, SSL FX G384, API 2500, LA2A, 1176, Bricasti, Massive Passive, Anamod ATS-1, Eventide H3500, TC 2290, Yamaha D5000, PCM92, PCM70... Amps, Amps & More Amps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2022, 04:03 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,657
Default Re: What Fender amp is this based on?

Either a Bassman or a Bandmaster, Presence control and separate tone pots means it's not say a '59 Tremolux. But the 1958-1960 mention means it's likely a model 5F6-A Bassman made '58-'60. Please let is know if you like it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2022, 03:40 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,139
Default Re: What Fender amp is this based on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Either a Bassman or a Bandmaster, Presence control and separate tone pots means it's not say a '59 Tremolux. But the 1958-1960 mention means it's likely a model 5F6-A Bassman made '58-'60. Please let is know if you like it.
After a couple of days demoing it I purchased it. Unlike the '59 Bassman in Amplitube 5 I can select either the normal or bright channel and it's stereo if I need that. I know one can make a kind of stereo in AT5 by using two streams in the one plugin but it just never sounds quite right. I tend to use guitar amp sims on other than guitar (synths, Rhodes, Hammond organ for that Jon Lord sound) so I need stereo for those uses.

I'm using it with Redwirez ir's in place of the built-in one in the plugin. As mentioned there's scant info on the amp on the product page.

Thanks for the info Darryl as I seem to have lost the Fender amp reference book 'The First 50 Years of Fender Amps' that I have (had) around here.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2022, 04:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,657
Default Re: What Fender amp is this based on?

Ha I have the same book... and could not find it, but checked by googling dates
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sample based or Tick based? Sven62 Tips & Tricks 18 08-11-2012 08:01 AM
Converting Sampled based Tracks to Tick Based NYKeys Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 05-14-2009 05:48 PM
changing audio files from tick based to sample based? levelaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-10-2009 11:41 AM
tick-based, sample-based? Carles Vila Tips & Tricks 1 05-08-2003 09:04 AM
Moving files from win based 001 to Mac based HD digi2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-17-2002 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com