Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:03 PM
Six6NYC Six6NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Exclamation PT 8 CPU spikes

First of all, hello to all here on the forum. I've been a member here since the PT 5 days, but never had any problems or solutions to post, until now.

So I followed all the Digi guidelines for a clean install or Windows XP and PT LE 8. All goes according to plan, my Mbox 2 Pro shows up, and old sessions open up with no apparent problems. Worked on 2 projects and was amazed at how little CPU the program had taken up, then I moved on to an old nagging project that I never finished (we'll call it project X) from 2007. Suddenly, while that project was open and idle, no plug-ins or virtual synths, I had cpu spikes going from 5% to 97% in the red. Completely freaked out the system. So I start digging around, reading the forums here and found that there are a few others with similar problems, but no solutions yet. So here's the very strange part.

I take the same project, and copy it over to my Macbook and open it with the Mbox Micro, and no CPU spikes or glitches or anything. Smooth as silk. I go back to my Windows system thinking that I had a problem overall with my Pro Tools, and open up a completely different project (project Z, also from 2007), with 30 audio tracks, 10 digi rack plug ins and a a couple of V-synths. Project Z ran without a hitch. No hiccups, no CPU spikes.

I don't have a solution, but apparently there was something about project x and ONLY that project, that freaks out the cpu on Windows XP. Haven't been able to figure it out yet, but if anyone is experiencing the CPU spikes, try opening a different session and see if you get the same problem and get back to us. Maybe we can find the culprit or the bug.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:14 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,710
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

Did you try trashing the databases? After that, I would create a new session and start importing 1 track at a time and see if all works, or if you can pin the blame on a single file. Is the problem session the same sample rate and bit depth?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2009, 01:32 AM
bblue bblue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: El Cajon, CA USA
Posts: 209
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

Also, go through project X and disable (not bypass) plug-ins one by one, or track by track to see if a plug-in or group of plug-ins in a particular order might be causing it.

Also, to prevent the spikes from overtaking the system, set your RTAS processors to three (or two if needed) in the Playback engine setup.

--Bill
__________________
Asus P6T DLX, Intel i7-920 OC'd to 3.2GHz, 6GB DDR3-1600 (triple), Win XP Pro SP3, PTLE 8cs2, MPTK2, Black Lion 003R, UAD-2 Duo, UA 2192
Monitoring: 24-bit dig to Avocet Crane Song controller, Pass Labs x250.5 amp, B&K N801 monitors, Transparent Audio analog cabling
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2009, 02:54 AM
netnoggin netnoggin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 614
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

It would be good to confirm that it's the PT process causing the spike and not some other process. If you open Task Manager while you have PT running, look at the Processes tab, and click on the CPU column header (maybe twice) to sort by CPU usage, can you tell which process is spiking out?

If it is in fact PT, that view still doesn't tell whether it's the main program or some errant plugin. But at least it eliminates other forces from the list of possibilities.

N
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:07 AM
Roy Stanton Roy Stanton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Mount; Orab; Ohio
Posts: 79
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

I had the same problem once and it was sans-amp. hope this helps
__________________
PTLE 7.4cs5 002 RACK FACTORY MPTOOL KIT INTEL P4 3.2 MHz dual core,DIGI SPECKED.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2009, 09:11 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

Are you using SansAmp?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-21-2009, 11:53 AM
Six6NYC Six6NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Red face Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

Thanks for the replies. After taking some time and stripping the project track by track, turns out that the DigiRack D-Verb (PT8) was the culprit. Removed it from the session, and the CPU behaved normally, hovering at or around 4%.

Still would like to know why this particular plug-in on this particular project was causing so much grief, and only on Windows XP. Same session was opened on a Mac, and had no CPU spikes with the D-Verb active. Weird.
__________________
Windows XP Core2Duo 1.86 Ghz 1MB RAM
MacBook Unibody 2.0 Ghz 2MB RAM
Mbox 2 Pro
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-21-2009, 12:58 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,346
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

How does this same reverb act in other sessions?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2009, 06:59 PM
Six6NYC Six6NYC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
How does this same reverb act in other sessions?
Hi Tom,

The Dverb behaves quite nicely in any other session. In a further test, I removed the DVerb from the affected project, saved it, then reopened the project and reinserted the DVerb, with no problems. But if I open the original project session, I would continue to get the CPU spikes, so there was definitely something wrong with that project data or preferences.

I wish I had answers as to why it happens, and I can continue to open the affected project and recreate the problem, but only within that specific session. I'm happy as long as I'm able to be productive.
__________________
Windows XP Core2Duo 1.86 Ghz 1MB RAM
MacBook Unibody 2.0 Ghz 2MB RAM
Mbox 2 Pro
Mbox Micro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2009, 07:09 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,600
Default Re: PT 8 CPU spikes

The problem back in the day was denormalization. Try placing a dither plug-in in front of the D-Verb and see if that tames it.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spikes - what are they? Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 21 12-14-2011 03:01 PM
CPU spikes with PT8 PTLExp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-04-2009 04:54 PM
cpu spikes gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-11-2007 04:21 PM
If your having spikes..... req06 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-15-2006 11:25 AM
Spikes on 001 Dopamine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-17-2001 09:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com