Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2018, 07:39 AM
sjblack sjblack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Aurora
Posts: 2
Default MIDI controller pickup

Hey, everyone, I need help, please! Hopefully I explain this correctly. Unfortunately, right now I don't have motorized fader controls. I recently got the Korg nanoKontrol Studio to give me a few fader/slider knob controls. In Logic Pro there's a pickup mode setting specifically for this issue.
This forces the fader in the DAW to stay put until the fader on the control surface reaches the same level. This is to prevent jumps in levels when you just need to tweak them a bit. This is an issue when moving the controller to different tracks with different levels. I read somewhere that Pro Tools has built in pickup support however it doesn't seem to be working. Every time I move a fader on my nanoKontrol the faders jump in Pro Tools before I actually reach the level I have set in Pro Tools. Does the Korg nanoKontrol not support this feature or is there a setting that I have to enable in Pro Tools?

I appreciate all responses in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2018, 08:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,585
Default Re: MIDI controller pickup

Even if it does, its going to be a disappointing user experience. If budget doesn't allow for better, the Behringer BCF2000 might be worth a look. Otherwise, I would be looking at The Presonus Faderport8, a used Avid Artist Mix(maybe combined with an original Faderport). The original Faderport is a dandy little box and has a motorized fader, transport buttons, and automation select and gets plenty of use here(for the last 9 years). I bought a package of Artist Mix and Transport, and ended up selling the Transport(too many unlabeled buttons). There are some other options, depending on your budget($400-$5K)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2020, 03:33 AM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 104
Default Re: MIDI controller pickup

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjblack View Post
Hey, everyone, I need help, please! Hopefully I explain this correctly. Unfortunately, right now I don't have motorized fader controls. I recently got the Korg nanoKontrol Studio to give me a few fader/slider knob controls. In Logic Pro there's a pickup mode setting specifically for this issue.
This forces the fader in the DAW to stay put until the fader on the control surface reaches the same level. This is to prevent jumps in levels when you just need to tweak them a bit. This is an issue when moving the controller to different tracks with different levels. I read somewhere that Pro Tools has built in pickup support however it doesn't seem to be working. Every time I move a fader on my nanoKontrol the faders jump in Pro Tools before I actually reach the level I have set in Pro Tools. Does the Korg nanoKontrol not support this feature or is there a setting that I have to enable in Pro Tools?

I appreciate all responses in advance.

Did you ever get this sorted? I have a Novation Keyboard and I have the same problem, where is the pickup choice in Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2021, 02:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,585
Default Re: MIDI controller pickup

Opinions vary, but I think you are trying to use the wrong tool for the job(and Novation products can be a crapshoot with Pro Tools).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi controller pickup sjblack Pro Tools 2018 0 03-24-2018 06:33 AM
Pickup Bar FundoProBasso macOS 5 01-09-2018 07:24 AM
midi studio doesn't recognize midi controller AKAI LPK25 88keys Pro Tools 11 0 08-31-2016 02:09 PM
dr 770 (boss dr rhythm 770) as midi controller/midi output to 11r midi input yellow Eleven Rack 1 05-04-2012 03:33 PM
OT: Bass Pickup's Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 06-07-2004 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com