Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2012, 04:21 PM
andymonize andymonize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re amping guitars

I'm trying to reamp some dry mono guitar tracks that I recorded through my eventide timefactor. I have Pro Tools LE8 with Digi 003. I did this a long time ago but can't remember how I did it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 07:53 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,442
Default Re: Re amping guitars

Reamp in the box, or reamp to a real amp?
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:05 PM
andymonize andymonize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Re amping guitars

Reamping in the box.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:54 PM
PD-John PD-John is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 488
Default Re: Re amping guitars

Insert the amp simulator plugin on the DI track..? Is this what you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2012, 06:49 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,442
Default Re: Re amping guitars

Quote:
Originally Posted by PD-John View Post
Insert the amp simulator plugin on the DI track..? Is this what you mean?
That's my suggestion as well. Then bus that to a new audio track and record it. Now make sure the new audio region is aligned with the original(nudge to compensate for any latency). Then "Hide and Make Inactive" The original track(to free up system resources). Amp sims tend to chew up a lot of system, so printing and disabling will give you back the power.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2012, 03:18 PM
andymonize andymonize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Re amping guitars

cool, thanks. How do you reamp using a real amp with my same scenario?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2012, 05:51 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,442
Default Re: Re amping guitars

Quote:
Originally Posted by andymonize View Post
cool, thanks. How do you reamp using a real amp with my same scenario?
Send the audio out thru an output, run that to an amp. Stick a mic in front of the amp and record to a new track. Be aware that this can/will be affected by level and impedance(which is why some companies offer "reamp" boxes).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re- amping music Tips & Tricks 11 09-01-2013 02:19 PM
hum during re-amping mblackman Eleven Rack 5 09-03-2012 02:17 PM
Re-Amping with PT9 Platereverb Eleven Rack 2 05-28-2011 06:53 AM
Re-Amping (What to use?) Jermak Eleven Rack 3 05-22-2011 12:25 PM
DI for re-amping? syra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-02-2003 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com