Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-01-2008, 01:14 AM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default digi core unsupported device

i have started getting a message on my digi core saying

Unsupported Device

Not Connected (HW in use)

i've been using the system for years with no problems. this started last week and i was able to connect if i tried to start pt's a few times. now it won't work at all. any ideas?

g4, 933, 1 gig ram, pt hd, process cards, tiger 10.4.11, pt's 7.3.1 cs7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:15 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

Is Pro Tools running when you're trying to use Core Audio, perhaps?

If so - that's why you would get the message as only 1 application can be using the hardware at a time. If Pro Tools is running, Core Audio can't launch.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:57 AM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

pro tools is not running. it won't start up. when i try to start pt's i get dae error -1146.

where can i find a list of dae errors?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:54 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling Pro Tools? What about running Digitest?

The 1146 error could have many causes. I'd start with the above and see if it reveals anything.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2008, 01:02 PM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

I have reformatted my drive, reinstalled pro tools and my system. i tried to run digi test. digi test won't open and says this: dsi error occurred: -1146
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2008, 08:31 AM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

I have pulled the digi cards and re-seated them in my mac, trashed all prefs and still not working. Still getting message:

Unsupported Device

Not Connected (HW in use)

Still getting error -1146 when I try to start up Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2008, 09:56 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

Have you tried it with just the core card installed?

If that works, add another card and test again. It sounds like you may have a bad card, but we'll need to narrow down which one may be at fault.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2008, 10:25 AM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

It didn't work. I've checked all connections. just tried pro tools again and got error -1115. is there a list of errors i can consult? waiting for your help is frustrating, (although very welcome). if i knew what these errors were, i might be able to figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2008, 03:40 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,598
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

Quote:
is there a list of errors i can consult?
Support FAQ:
www.digidesign.com/support/faq

Second item from the top:
How Do I Search for Information on a DAE Error? Is There a DAE Error List of All DAE Errors?
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2008, 04:26 PM
andu andu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: nyc, ny, usa
Posts: 214
Default Re: digi core unsupported device

this did not give me a list of dae and dsi errors. it gives specific cases none of which apply to hd. i would like a list describing what the error is. i am getting dae error -1146, -1115 and dsi error -1146. can you tell me what those errors are?

More important, any ideas on why my system has stopped working?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 unsupported Device on Macbook Pro (i tried everything! please help!!!!) durrr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-23-2013 11:16 AM
Digi 002 + PT 8.0 from Windows to OSX - Unsupported Device in CORE AUDIO MANAGER whoman421 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-03-2012 08:43 PM
unsupported Device with standalone digidriver doublex 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2009 02:00 PM
Unsupported Device mcfeely 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-05-2006 03:41 AM
CoreAudio says: Unsupported Device !?!?! nowinner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-24-2006 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com