Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2003, 01:21 PM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Pops with 001 on win98

Alright, so I've had my PT computer setup for almost a year now, and its just recently started popping, and I get a lot of 9093 errors alot too. I've uninstalled just about all the software I have, defragged, cleanned up the audio drive, checked for errors, and reset the 001 cable. Unless someone can give me any other ideas to try, I'm probably going to reformatt, and maybe put winxp on and see if that works.

My system: gigabyte ga7dx+, amd 1800+, ibm system harddrive 5400, seagate 7200 audio drive. 512 mb ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2003, 04:32 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

A lot of the 9093 errors lead back to DMA issues...
Is your synch set to internal?

How old is the IBM drive? Is it a deathstar, er, deSK star?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2003, 07:42 PM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

yeah, it is a deskstar. My sync is internal. I have a spdif in, but the pops aren't on the audio, they just happen on playback. I think I'm gonna reformat in a few days...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2003, 07:12 AM
nukmusic nukmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: new orleans, la
Posts: 1,433
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

R these pops at the beginnig of your audio files?
If so, you need to creat small fade-ins&outs. The TDM systems do this automatically. Hope this helps.
__________________
Docta'J

Download free music at
http://www.nukmusic.com
nEVER uNDERESTIMATE kNOWLEDGE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2003, 07:22 AM
da BaSsTaRd! da BaSsTaRd! is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,933
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

before you reformat, try turning the 001 cable around and make sure that the ends are secured tightly.
__________________
i love my apple iPhone!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2003, 08:47 AM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

Quote:
Originally posted by nukmusic:
R these pops at the beginnig of your audio files?
If so, you need to creat small fade-ins&outs. The TDM systems do this automatically. Hope this helps.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">No these are random pops, not pops from not crossfading. They only happen when I'm listen to the full mix though, not if I'm soloing just one or two tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2003, 11:03 AM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

Sounds like disk read errors to me. But there are a million ways for computer audio to mess up, as we've all seen. Narrow is the path...

You might want to check out HD Tach here.
or
WinBench for some diagnostics...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-26-2003, 10:33 AM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

Ok, on the suggestion of another message board, I slaved my cdrw drive to my system drive, and gave my audio hdd its own IDE slot.

But now I can't play for more than two seconds (literaly) without 9093 or 9094???

Plllleeeeease anyone have any suggestions? Is have a cdrw slaved to my system drive a bad idea? (everything is hooked up with 80 pin, and my hdds are running on ata100)

With HDTach, my system drive seems fine, but my audio drive has a random burst speed of 2.3 mb/s. Thats really low isn't it? On my system drive its in the 50s.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-26-2003, 11:46 AM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

Also, with winBench I'm getting 25,200 kbps with my deskstar, and 6,360(not a typo) with my Seagate...

Could it be a bad drive?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2003, 03:56 PM
JFogarty JFogarty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 81
Default Re: Pops with 001 on win98

I solved most of my problems, but it turns out that I'm getting the pops because of my dual monitor setup. I have the matrox g450, running PT on win98. I get pops when I move the mouse on the second monitor, if I'm in a low buffer size. Anyone else get this problem? Anyone know of a solution?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
win98 and mac LadyElectrikStudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-07-2002 02:15 AM
ME or win98 janrudi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-26-2001 06:49 AM
Win98 & Mac OS Sharma 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-04-2000 01:12 AM
Win98 and MAC 5.0.1 on one CD? QuikDraw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-19-2000 08:49 AM
WIN98 Digi Engineering 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-26-2000 12:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com