Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:54 PM
AudioAlchemy.tv AudioAlchemy.tv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Default How do I import an omf with a frame rate of 59.94?

I'm working on a Hi-Def project coming from FCP with a 59.94, drop-frame time code. When I import this into Pro Tools 7.3.1 it offsets the 01:00:00:00 time code to 02:00:00:00 and recognizes the file as non-drop frame. There also seems to be a certain amount of drift over the duration of the project regardless of whether or not I change the time code to drop frame.

Any ideas? Solutions?

Thanks,

Dave Smith
AudioAlchemy.tv
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:45 PM
EarHole EarHole is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 831
Default Re: How do I import an omf with a frame rate of 59.94?

59.94 is a phantom rate. it doesn't really exist. I'm pretty sure it's just 29.97 (29.97 x2 = 59.94) NDF.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:55 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,823
Default Re: How do I import an omf with a frame rate of 59.94?

59l.94 is not a frame rate.

it is either 23.976 or 29.97 (D or ND)

are you translating an OMF?

are you opening (or double-clicking it)?

or are you importing tracks into an aleady existing (even new) session. if so, are you sure that your Session start time and the OMF are the same? and are you remapping the incoming tracks? if so, then that explains the discrepancy.

unless the editor set it up for 2 Hours. or this is Reel 02.

if you are having drift and it came from Final Cut, then have the eidtor check into whether or not he properly removed advanced pull down (not the audio pull down). editors new to HD make this mistake all the time.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't import video when frame rate not the same as the current one Rockman413 Pro Tools 10 2 11-08-2012 08:52 AM
cannot import second video file! different frame rate message. crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-14-2008 09:10 AM
Free Frame Rate and Frame Calc widgets dr sound Post - Surround - Video 1 08-21-2008 11:39 AM
Same video frame rate still won't import - too often anyway Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-23-2007 07:22 PM
7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate Charles Deenen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-08-2006 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com