Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2006, 03:24 PM
Charles Deenen Charles Deenen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 499
Default 7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate

man, I still feel like I'm beta-testing this thing.

Symptom: Protools won't know when a movie-track no longer exists and won't allow movies with different frame-rate to be imported

To recreate:

- import a movie at 24fps to a movie-track
- delete the movie-track
- import a movie at 29.97fps...

result: it won't let you since it still thinks it has a movie-track at 24fps. 'MAIN TRACK' remains greyed out.

inbetween fix: remove all old movies out of the region bin, and then it will let you import at 29.97fps, however, still not to the MAIN TRACK.

-charles
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2006, 11:17 PM
bottleneck88 bottleneck88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 47
Default Re: 7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate

Charles,

Since PT now supports multiple videos, when you delete the video track it does not remove the video from the region bin...look at the bottom of your region bin select the video and remove from session...then import your new video

sorry only read half your post....you already knew this. but i will take that small hassel for the joy of multiple videos
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2006, 04:32 AM
TAFF TAFF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wales,UK
Posts: 161
Default Re: 7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate

I've also had this. Our Foley stage is running a MIx+ and a FUSEX card. We used a DV movie for shooting Foley. We imported the Mix+ session into 7.2. and it said it was 29.97. We know for certain it's 25fps. We deleted the DV movie added a new Cut of the film to resync and it would not import. Coming up with the same error message about different frame rates. In the end I made a new clean session and imported tracks.

Paul McFadden
Supervising Sound Editor
Doctor Who
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:01 PM
tombrewer tombrewer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: CA and IA
Posts: 83
Default Re: 7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate

A silly work around for this is to create a quicktime movie that references its original movie, and then open the second movie and and copy and paste it at the end of the first movie... and save. Then import the "referenced movie" into Pro Tools... and cut it up. Not entirely a perfect solution, but it seems to work pretty well. The only problem I have run into using this moethod is importing audio off of "referenced" movies when one of the tracks is compressed.

Also, if you have a moive already imported, how do you them import the audio track off of it?

Thanks,

Tom
__________________
Thomas C. Brewer
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:23 PM
emf1138 emf1138 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 524
Default Re: 7.2 BUG - Video import w/different frame-rate

Quote:

Also, if you have a moive already imported, how do you them import the audio track off of it?

Thanks,

Tom
Open IMPORT AUDIO and select your quicktime. If it has a valid audio track embedded, you can import the file like a normal sound.
__________________
Eric Freeman, CAS
Sound Supervisor/Re-Recording Mixer
Disney TV Animation
IMDB
LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't import video when frame rate not the same as the current one Rockman413 Pro Tools 10 2 11-08-2012 08:52 AM
cannot import second video file! different frame rate message. crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-14-2008 09:10 AM
How do I import an omf with a frame rate of 59.94? AudioAlchemy.tv Post - Surround - Video 2 09-08-2007 03:55 PM
Same video frame rate still won't import - too often anyway Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-23-2007 07:22 PM
QT 23.98 video frame rate... timecode rate? dopplah Post - Surround - Video 10 07-03-2007 05:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com