Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2021, 09:36 AM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Hi everyone, this is actualy my first post here and thanks in advance for your atention.

I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5 in a Windows 7 Vaio Laptop with a firewire port conected to a Profire2626. But this Laptop´s firewire stopped working and isn´t worth fixing it.

So I got a new computer, a Ryzen 6 3600, with a Aorus B450 motherboard, GeForce 1660, Texas Firewire PCIex card, all running in Windows 10. The windows 10 recognizes the M-Audio interface perfectly. I´ve already instaled PACE too, no problems.

BUT, I am having problems instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered. It started normaly. But, at the time it asks to reboot, when the computer is starting again, It enters the security mode, and I have to restore the computer to an early point.

Any help???

Thanks in advance!
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2021, 11:03 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,428
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

#thestruggleisreal
—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2021, 11:37 AM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Hi

So PT8 LE will never work on Windows 10. Sorry but you got to get current with the latest PT 2020 if you are going to run Windows 10.

I read about a lot of people working with PT8 and Win10...
Maybe running in compatibility mode?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2021, 05:04 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,221
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CassianoMusicMan View Post
.... I got the Pro Tools M- Powered 8, wich I´ve upgraded to 8.0.5
Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.3.1 and 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads & 433830U Docks – Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2021, 05:11 PM
CassianoMusicMan CassianoMusicMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 4
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by unkJE View Post
Hi – and welcome to the DUC!

This may be worth a try – if you have the time.

My Axiom Pro 49 keyboard (installed with Windows 7) is not supported in Windows 10 – however, it works fine in Win 10, after “migrating from Win 7 to Win 10, with all files intact/keep Programs installed)”.
(This is NOT a clean install of Win 10)

(1) From Windows 10, revert to Windows 7:
Start Menu>Settings>Update & Security>Recovery>Go back to Windows 7

More info: Uninstall Windows 10 and revert back to Windows 7
https://www.techradar.com/au/how-to/...ws-8-1-1325555

(2) Restart computer

(3) Install Pro Tools M-Powered 8 with Updates to 8.0.5 – as well as the appropriate M-Audio Drivers - https://m-audio.com/support/drivers

(4) Restart computer

(5) Install a minimal version of Apple's QuickTime this way:
https://www.pro-tools-pc.com/apple-q...security-risk/
Scroll down to the heading:
Installing the bare minimum Quicktime Components Required for Pro Tools

(6) Restart computer

(7) Use Microsoft’s MediaCreationTool1909 (do not use the latest MediaCreationTool20H2) to migrate Win 7 to Win 10 with all files intact

Microsoft suggest:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...b-310ca0e0306f

Install Windows 10 Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418) with the iso from the following link:
https://tb.rg-adguard.net/public.php

Select type: Windows (Final)
Select version: Windows 10, Version 1909 – 19H2 (build 18363.418)
Select edition: Windows 10
Select language: English
Select file: Win10_1909_English_x64.iso

Run the iso - choose “keep my programs installed” – don’t choose a “clean install”

(7) Restart computer

(8) Run the free CCleaner:
https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download

Then run the free CCleaner Registry – run 2 or 3 times, until it finds no more to fix


(9) Restart computer


(10) Launch Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5 in Windows 10 to see if it works - please post your result!


Good luck!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fortune_favours_the_bold

I’ll!!!
Thank’s a lot! I appreciate your help!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600 6-Core Processor
  • Windows 10 Pro
  • Pro Tools 8 M-Powered
  • 32G RAM
  • 240G SSD / 1T HD - SATA
  • M-Audio Profire2626
  • FireWire PCIEx Texas Instuments - Legacy Driver
  • Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2021, 10:53 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,690
Default Re: Problem instaling Pro Tools 8 M-Powered in Windows 10- Help!

I'm sorry, but it will never work. Simple as that. You will be wasting your time. I'm with Cristopher, either you get current with PT or you might try to install Win7 on that PC. Win7/PT8 might work.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
instaling in win7 problem raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-10-2011 03:02 AM
Pro Tools 8 M Powered Windows XP Loading Problem scripturez Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 12-19-2010 08:01 PM
i cant pro tools 8 for my windows 7 64bit instaling korgic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-01-2010 11:20 PM
Problem instaling pro tools LE 8.0 C0mplX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-08-2009 09:16 AM
problem in instaling pt 7.4 raga2000 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 6 07-31-2008 08:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com