Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2012, 04:17 AM
crashhak crashhak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 154
Default Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

When I was using Vista, PT worked fine but now I installed Window Vista 7 and I cannot install PT 8.01. In the middle of the installation, it gets error and stop. Any Idea? Thanks.

http://i414.photobucket.com/albums/p...3/IMG_0382.jpg

Window 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Eleven Rack
Digi 002 rack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2012, 02:02 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,782
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

Install a higher version like 8.0.3, 8.0.4 or 8.0.5 (you should be on 8.0.5)
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2012, 03:45 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,910
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashhak View Post
now I installed Window Vista 7
????

Yes Win7 needs v8.04 or higher. Do you have an Avid account with updates available? I can't remember what version the latest 'Full installer' was (I'm sure it was higher than 8.01), but you need to get it and then update to v8.05 from there.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2012, 03:58 PM
crashhak crashhak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 154
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

Thanks, Benoni and Zedhead. I tried to update to 8.05 but since I can't install 8.01 they don't allow me to update. I only have PT 8.01 installer cd which came when I bought Eleven Rack. Where can I purchase higher version?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2012, 04:50 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,782
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

What hard drive are you installing Pro tools to?

It should be to your OS hard drive.

Should be no problem installing 8.0.1, just don't install the drivers until you run the 8.0.5 update.

Make sure you are installing to your OS drive (usually C:)

Try right clicking the Install icon and choose Run As Administrator.

Disable UAC before you install.
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2012, 10:44 AM
crashhak crashhak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 154
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

I still cannot install PT 8.01. I did Sandra report, do you think this will help you to figure out problem? Thanks.

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gateway GT5628

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Speed : 2.4GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 4MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Intel DG33SXG2
BIOS : Intel Corp. DPP3510J.15A.0316.2008.0522.1909 05/22/2008
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3

Chipset
Model : Gateway 2000 P35/G33/G31 Processor to I/O Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 267MHz (1GHz)
Total Memory : 8GB DIMM DDR2 DDR3
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 401MHz (802MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)
Memory Module : Corsair CM2X2048-6400C5 2GB DIMM DDR2 PC2-6400U DDR2-800 (5-5-5-18 3-22-6-3)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (16 SM4.0 1.35GHz, 1GB DDR2 2x400MHz, PCIe 1.00 x16)

Graphics Processor

Storage Devices
Seagate ST3500630AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (E:) (P:)
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Y9A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ) : 932GB (C:)
Generic USB SD Reader (USB) : N/A (K:)
Generic USB CF Reader (USB) : N/A (F:)
Generic USB SM Reader (USB) : N/A (G:)
Generic USB MS Reader (USB) : N/A (H:)
GNMDI MRC1ARG1 (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R) : N/A (D:)
TSSTcorpCDDVDW SE-S084B (USB) : N/A (J:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (E:) : 456GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500630AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Y9A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm, NCQ)
RECOVERY (P:) : 10GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500630AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", NCQ, 16MB Cache)
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A @ Generic USB SD Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A @ Generic USB CF Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ Generic USB SM Reader (USB)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Generic USB MS Reader (USB)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ GNMDI MRC1ARG1 (SCSI, BD-R, HD-DVD-R, DVD+-R-DL, CD-R)
Optical Drive (J:) : N/A @ TSSTcorpCDDVDW SE-S084B (USB)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond WPCD374L/376I/377I
Audio Device : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) HD Audio Controller
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Gateway 2000 ICH8R (ICH8) SATA RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 4 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 5 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 6 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 7 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller 8 : Gateway 2000 (ICH9) USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Lucent/Agere Systems (Was: AT&T MicroElectronics) FW322/323 IEEE1394 OHCI FireWire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 801xx/63xx SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Hancom PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MG5300 series Printer (USB, Colour)
Printer : Adobe PDF Converter (4000x4000, Colour)

Peripherals
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()
Media Player : ()

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.9

Performance Enhancing Tips
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2012, 10:46 AM
crashhak crashhak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 154
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

Does Pro tool 10 would work on my system? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2012, 12:01 PM
moff moff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Nanaimo, BC
Posts: 385
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

What version of Internet Explorer is installed on your computer? IE8 causes installation problems.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2012, 12:23 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,782
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

Have you checked your Avid account to see if you have an 8.0.3 full installer in there that you can download?

Did you DISABLE UAC?

Are you installing from a DVD?

Did you wipe the disc down with a clean cloth? (dont scratch it)

I've never seen the "Feature Transfer Error"

Have you tried updating the drivers for your DVD drive from the manufactures website?

Have you tried copying the whole DVD to an Image or just drag the contents of the DVD to the desktop and run from there.

Another thing to try it before you install, right click the installer, go to Compatibility and choose Windows XP Sp2,3 or Vista Sp2.

And be sure to run with Run As Administrator, dont just double click, Right click and choose Run as Admin.

Before you try to install again, make sure everything Digidesign related is Uninstalled.

You may even want to run a registry cleaner first like Ccleaner to clear the registry.

I've installed LE8 on Windows 7 before and didn't have a problem, you just have to Run As Admin, and use a Compatibility Mode, I don't remember IE8 being a problem, but if it is, uninstall it, and install IE7, then after you get LE8.0.5 installed, reinstall IE8, preferably IE9 since there are security holes in IE8, IE7, IE6 and lower.

I just remembered I made a video about this over 2 years ago, maybe this will help?
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2012, 06:09 AM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: Cannot install PT 8.01 on Window 7

I have PT HD 8.05 running on a Windows 7 64 bit "Professional" computer (Dell 690), but I never installed Service Pack 1. I posted a thread on DUC asking if SP1 was ever qualified with 8.05, and never got an answer, so I never added SP1 to that machine.

I did have an issue with 8.1 not installing, so never upgraded to it. Leap-frogging service packs and PT revisions/updates might be part of your problem. If you want to use SP1, I would update to PT 9 or 10.

I have many other windows machines, and two of them have Win7 64 bit Professional with SP1 (and all current security updates). One has PT HD 10.01 and the other has PT HD 10.2. Will be updating those to 10.3.x once most everybody on the forum seems happy with it. Both of the SP1 machines have AMD Opteron processors and Tyan motherboards. PT 10 HD runs fine, but the AMD processors are an unsupported PT configuration.
__________________
PT10.3.10HD(Tyan s2932 [8core Shanghai 2.7GHZ] 32GB,Win7 SP1); PT10HD(Tyan s2892 w/10GB, Win7 SP1);PT8HD(Dell 690 quad Xeon 3.0, 8GB, Win7,192 I/O, 96 I/O);MacBook Pro: 11R, Apogee Element 46, Focusrite 8PreX PT HD 11.3.2; Mac Pro 3.47 Hex 32GB, OSX 10.12.6/L10.4.2;L9.1.8, 2.64TB; G5 D2.3 4GB, 10.4.11/L8; 12c MP 2.66/32GB PT12.4; Structure, GigaGS3, Kontakt 5, Garratin, Sibelius 8.7+, Finale26,EMU,Vegas Pro 16-10/; RME HDSP9652,MOTU 2408 MKIII/1224/308, FX,Kurz,L5s,Strat,ASAT,JB,Zon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After 8.0.3 install, no text in workspace or relink window inasimplerhyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 12-10-2014 12:53 PM
Setup window solid grey, no way to install hijinxbassist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-07-2012 12:46 PM
Window Configuration Bug - Track/Groups window keeps reappearing! cantgetnosleep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-25-2010 11:34 AM
Transport Window and Color Selection window lost cd_audio_mix Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-26-2006 10:58 PM
Mix Window Freezes but Edit Window works fine. wwicklund 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-08-2006 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com