How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-16-2023, 10:45 AM

Default Pro Tools and how to master the learning curve

Guys, please, may I share a discovery?

I was a certified Pro Tools engineer back in 2002. Yeah, old an old version on a G3-5..yikes. After 20 years, I'm now going back and catching up. There have been a lot of improvements all the way to the GUI itself.

The learning curve for most people is daunting, admit it, it is. Mastery is almost inconceivable. but we press on.

So, I'm now back reviewing what I know, and remember, but there are many other features and functions I've been using in other DAWs for years, and finding the appropriate similar function, and not quite knowing what they are actually called (there's not a lot of agreement between DAW vendors..lol) So, you have to 1) resort to U2B videos/tutorials/tips. but if there isn't one on the topic you need, you have to resort to the PT manual. But like most large companies, they don't keep documentation up to the version you are using, Things are just not there. example: "Auto Tempo Detection" in other DAWs, but not called the same there. this does not use beat detective, it's different.

Frustrated, couldn't find the answer, not a lot on the forums either.