Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2022, 01:28 PM
sricabla sricabla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Hawi, Hawaii
Posts: 89
Default Entry level Mac studio good enough

Hello,
My mixes usually have no more than 24 tracks. I use my fair share of plugins. If I got the 32 meg ram Studio, would that be enough for smooth sailing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2022, 04:24 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,812
Default Re: Entry level Mac studio good enough

I don't even need to know more about what you're trying to do with those 24 tracks... the answer is "yes." They're very powerful machines.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-05-2022, 04:31 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,799
Default Re: Entry level Mac studio good enough

You could save a lot of bucks and buy a 16GB M1, Mini, Macbook, or imac because they have plenty of punch to run sessions like that, and with a lot of plugins. The RAM limitation only comes into play when you add big VIs, sample libraries etc. or video. Or if you want to run memory-hungry applications simultaneously.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2022, 04:43 PM
noah330 noah330 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 569
Default Re: Entry level Mac studio good enough

I’m doing what you suggest with the base M1 Mini and an HDN card. Buy the Studio if you have the money. I’m sure you’ll love it.
__________________
Apple M1 Mac Studio (base model)
HD Native PCI-e in an Echo Express SE 1 chassis
HD Omni with SSL XLogic MADI-AX and MADI-HD

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/sparkletune/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entry level Macbook J_Deep macOS 1 10-20-2011 11:40 AM
Entry Level Desktop PC for Pro Tools LE 7.3 StratMan04 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-05-2007 09:14 AM
entry level monitors JCBigler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 18 05-14-2005 06:36 AM
Entry level G5 with a MIX system Iker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-21-2004 10:51 PM
Pssst: Entry-level configuration questions ringr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-27-2002 04:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com