Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2020, 08:27 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

I was working on a session that was rapidly growing large, so I had my track stacks organized into closed folders, some of them nested. I needed to go back to a smaller buffer size and felt just freezing the closed folders would automatically freeze all the enclosed tracks. It did not! Am I missing something here? Logically, shouldn't freezing a folder also freeze its contents? At the very least there should be the option to do either. Is there a way to do this that I haven't yet discovered?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-2020, 09:47 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,450
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Are the Folder Tracks Basic or Routing? Of course, since Folder Tracks are so new, this may be something for a future update
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-2020, 04:38 PM
huzzam huzzam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens / İstanbul / Oakland
Posts: 493
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesbrunn View Post
I was working on a session that was rapidly growing large, so I had my track stacks organized into closed folders, some of them nested. I needed to go back to a smaller buffer size and felt just freezing the closed folders would automatically freeze all the enclosed tracks. It did not! Am I missing something here? Logically, shouldn't freezing a folder also freeze its contents? At the very least there should be the option to do either. Is there a way to do this that I haven't yet discovered?

Hmm i just saw an avid video which explicitly said that freezing a folder would freeze the contents! Sounds like a bug


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
* Macbook Air : M1 ~ 16gb ~ 1tb ~ Monterey 12.6
* PT 2022.9 + Ableton Suite 11.2
* SoundToys + Valhalla + Fabfilter + Spitfire
* RME Fireface UCX II ~ Arturia Keylab Essential 49
* various clarinets, trumpets, flutes, plucky stringy thingies
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2020, 02:01 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Quote:
Originally Posted by huzzam View Post
Hmm i just saw an avid video which explicitly said that freezing a folder would freeze the contents! Sounds like a bug


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Have you tried it?
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2020, 03:23 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

I RTFM to learn more about this, and it says "Only the audio output of the Routing Folder track will be frozen (or unfrozen), audio from member tracks that are not routed through the Routing Folder are not included."
Fair enough if unrouted member tracks are not frozen (though I think every member should be frozen), but this implies that member tracks that are routed, should also freeze. That doesn't happen.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2020, 04:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

No, not the tracks. The OUTPUT of routing track should freeze.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2020, 04:58 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,697
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Yeah if you think of a routing folder as just a re-badged aux track (because, let's face it, that's basically what it is) then it follows the exactly the same rules as an aux track: i.e. if you freeze an aux track, you don't expect all the tracks routed to it to freeze as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2020, 05:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,291
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Exactly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2020, 07:56 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Yeah if you think of a routing folder as just a re-badged aux track (because, let's face it, that's basically what it is) then it follows the exactly the same rules as an aux track: i.e. if you freeze an aux track, you don't expect all the tracks routed to it to freeze as well.
OK. That's what it is basically, an aux track on steroids if you will. And that is exactly why I expect more from it. An aux track only routes audio. A routing folder does that, but it's also a container in which tracks are stored. Beside a situation where tracks are not routed through its path, I'd expect the tracks in the container to freeze when the container is frozen. Otherwise apart from purely organizational value, where are the steroids?

Is there anyone here who would say there is no benefit in having member tracks freeze with one click on the folder?

There should be an option for this, just as there are options to either save a closed folder track as a preset with or without its member tracks.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins

Last edited by lesbrunn; 05-07-2020 at 08:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2020, 08:06 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 968
Default Re: Freezing A Folder Track Does Not Freeze Its Contents

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
No, not the tracks. The OUTPUT of routing track should freeze.
Yes, that too. But the major value of frozen tracks in IM (humble) O is not in freezing audio clips. What's to be gained from that if there are no plugins inserted on the folder? The real benefit is the ability to freeze the whole signal path with its plugins and whatever, thereby easing the CPU load.

All I'm suggesting is that the option should be made available because it's useful, and will save time.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track freeze is freezing too much SigFriedChicken Pro Tools 12 9 12-14-2021 07:24 AM
"Obtaining folder contents" task Bydy Pro Tools 12 1 01-26-2021 03:14 PM
Calculating Waveforms and Synchronizing Folder Contents randomly BrianJArmstrong macOS 7 01-27-2019 09:07 AM
Freeze without Freezing Inserts - Feature request? Dizzi45Z Pro Tools 2018 4 08-04-2018 05:32 AM
Task Manager , "Obtain folder contents" , "Expanding Tree" ??? joachim Tips & Tricks 0 06-15-2015 12:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com