Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2017, 01:20 AM
ladewd ladewd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 200
Default Subscription Question

If I let my subscription lapse can I keep and use PT12 next year or will Avid shut me down? I simply don’t use it enough anymore to warrant paying the subscription but want to keep some working version of PT on my DAW.
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1 12Core 48GB RAM, 4 Internal Drives Mackie Onyx 1640i, PTLE 12.7 w/MPTK2, OSX Yosemite. MacBookPro 13" 2.26GHz 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitan w/MOTU Ultralite Mk3.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2017, 02:08 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Subscription Question

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tion-to-expire
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2017, 03:26 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 656
Default Re: Subscription Question

If by subscription you mean a monthly or yearly subscription payment where you have never purchased PT, then it will stop functioning when the subscription runs out. If you purchased a perpetual licence and mean the yearly payment to keep up to date, it will keep functioning in perpetuity at the version it was at when you stopped paying for updates.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 516.94 - 2 x Internal Samsung 860 EVO SSDs, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve Studio 18.0.4 - Blackmagic Speed Editor - MK1 Presonus Faderport - Canon C100 mk2 - Atomos Ninja 2 - Zoom H2n
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2017, 07:03 PM
ladewd ladewd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 200
Default Re: Subscription Question

Thanks for the info. I originally purchased P.T. and have been a user since around 2003. I have paid dearly to Avid. I just find myself using other DAWs and wasn’t using P.T. enough to warrant keeping my license current. I occasionally get P.T. projects, so I need a version to use. I’ll give AVID another year and see where that leaves me.
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1 12Core 48GB RAM, 4 Internal Drives Mackie Onyx 1640i, PTLE 12.7 w/MPTK2, OSX Yosemite. MacBookPro 13" 2.26GHz 8GB RAM, OSX El Capitan w/MOTU Ultralite Mk3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about 12 subscription Kerick23 Pro Tools 12 1 04-29-2015 07:47 AM
Pro Tools 12 HD subscription question flavor32 Pro Tools 12 13 04-23-2015 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com