Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2017, 07:07 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

How is this even possible?

Sigh.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 14.05.20.jpg (16.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2017, 08:03 AM
cshaw cshaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bastrop, TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Is there any MIDI controller information on this track (pitch bend, volume, etc. )


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
www.chrisshawmix.com

PT 20.3.0
S1
Artist Transport
Avid Control
iPad 7th Gen
HD Native
Hackintosh i9 3.6 GHz Six Core
Apogee Ensemble
OSX 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:08 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Well yes but even that data should be contained within a clip. Otherwise there's not much point in clips existing in the first place.

Last edited by midnightrambler; 11-08-2017 at 10:13 AM. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:13 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Also, is this a bug or a feature?

Write in a new note, watch the old notes disappear.....for what seems like no reason...

(If it is a feature, who the hell ordered that???)


https://vid.me/RIVbR


Sigh. So fed up with this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2017, 10:23 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Quote:
Originally Posted by midnightrambler View Post
Also, is this a bug or a feature?

Write in a new note, watch the old notes disappear.....for what seems like no reason...

(If it is a feature, who the hell ordered that???)


https://vid.me/RIVbR


Sigh. So fed up with this.
thats odd .. never seen that before .. does it happen in bank fresh sessoin with just one mdid track ???
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2017, 03:26 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 970
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

isn't that the same bug as in this thread

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=394825

?
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 ; 6-Core Intel Xeon 3,46 GHz, 32 Gig Ram, NVIDIA Quadro K5000 with 3 displays connected  OSX10.15.7  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2022.9  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2017, 01:14 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

Not sure, doesn't seem very clear. The MIDI notes are definitely playing on my clip.

Someone needs to set fire to the whole MIDI engine and start again with it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2017, 05:08 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

And STILL not always recalling MIDI Ports on instrument tracks compared to when it was last saved.


THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE VERSION 8! 10 YEARS AGO!

Give me strength.

http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1510229173
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 12.02.20.png (14.3 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2017, 08:31 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,780
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2

[QUOTE=midnightrambler;2458619]And STILL not always recalling MIDI Ports on instrument tracks compared to when it was last saved.


THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE VERSION 8! 10 YEARS AGO!

Give me strength.

thats a pretty big Font Size !!!! we heard you in the States !!!!
__________________
Macmini M1 8/512 -OS 12.3.1 and PT2022.4
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS11.6.5 - PT 2021.3
Logic Pro X 10.7.4
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-2017, 11:36 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,695
Default Re: MIDI notes exist outside of a clip!? 12.8.2



And again. 6 MIDI ports missing this time, literally 5 minutes between closing, opening another session, then re-opening. So utterly rubbish.


http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...1&d=1510252551
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-11-09 at 18.31.40.jpg (28.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Key Command Toggle Clip and Notes views on a midi track? DFT Pro Tools 10 8 01-13-2022 08:59 AM
MIDI notes randomly don't play, although visible in the clip XJENSEN Pro Tools 12 5 01-11-2017 12:03 PM
Batch separate clip at memory locations exist for Post workflows? evil_cliff Pro Tools 12 6 06-15-2016 01:27 AM
MIDI Editor should hide notes note in clip melino Pro Tools 10 0 06-30-2012 03:36 PM
How to convert midi notes to a clip? MarkH Pro Tools 10 6 12-29-2011 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com