Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:27 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

I noticed when reading the compatibility page that the MBOX 2 PRO is not supported for use with Firewire 800 hard drives. I have a new unibody mac with fire wire 800 only. Question is: will a fire 400 drive work with the 400-800 cable adapter? And is there any 800 drives that have been known to work with the mbox2 pro?

Last question a bit off topic: Is there any hard drive incompatibilty issues with the mbox2 micro? can use an 800 drive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2010, 08:22 AM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2010, 09:00 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,435
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

Use a FW800 to FW400 cable. The best drives to use with Pro Tools are those with dual FW400 ports(so you can daisy-chain from the computer to the drive, then to the interface). It does work with the interface in between but you must be careful. If you disconnect the interface while the drive is writing, you can corrupt a session(why DIGI says put the drive to the computer).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:00 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

Upon more experimenting, I noticed my new drive which has dual 800 inputs worked with the mbox 2 pro when on my white macbook that has a firewire 400 bus/port. Then with the same drive hooked up with my MBP with an 800 bus gave me errors. Seems its the bus not the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:36 PM
barlevy barlevy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 132
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

Thats beacause MBOX 2 PRO doesn't support FW800 drive

use only FW400
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:16 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

Quote:
Originally Posted by TREXROCK View Post
Upon more experimenting, I noticed my new drive which has dual 800 inputs worked with the mbox 2 pro when on my white macbook that has a firewire 400 bus/port. Then with the same drive hooked up with my MBP with an 800 bus gave me errors. Seems its the bus not the drives.
Not necessarily.

The reason why it worked before, is because your drive is running at 400 when plugged into the 400 port... but it is trying to run at 800 when plugged into the 800 port. Since the FW Digi devices do not support 800, it won't work in this configuration.

That is why it is suggested to use a FW400 drive with a 400-800 cable. This will ramp the bus speed down to 400, and the overall chain will follow suit. Thus, working MBox.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2010, 01:24 PM
TREXROCK TREXROCK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

I just got an OWC mercury on the go pro drive today. 7200 rpm, 2 firewire 800 ports only. It is working 100% with my macbook pro (has fire 800) with the mbox 2 pro. Just a fluke?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2010, 09:50 PM
richardbe richardbe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3
Default Re: Please clarify!!! Mbox 2 pro question

[QUOTE=albee1952;1556852]The best drives to use with Pro Tools are those with dual FW400 ports(so you can daisy-chain from the computer to the drive, then to the interface).QUOTE]

can you suggest any dual FW400 drives? most i seem to see have 400 + 800, or dual 800.
thanks.
rich
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just want to clarify Can I run HD 9/10 with no cards and with only my Mbox Pro (3)? Violet Pro Tools 10 3 10-22-2011 11:30 PM
Latency question please help clarify TREXROCK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-02-2008 10:43 PM
clarify why mbox pro 96 is an issue? samrisio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-15-2006 04:21 PM
PT7 Please clarify. toddm7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-23-2005 05:34 AM
Digi pls Clarify what OS ?? Targon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-27-2002 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com