Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-08-2008, 08:41 PM
insanesounds insanesounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 123
Default ProTools 7.4 crashes when trying to import mp3

I've been having to use a 3rd party program (Nero) to convert mp3 files to .wav on files that I'd like to use in my sessions. If I try to import directly (import audio), PT crashes as soon as I click on the file and just knocks me out of the program. Earlier versions I never had this issue. I do own the mp3 option - which I just purchased thinking that would help - but no luck. I can export and bounce to mp3 but I cant import without the crashing.. Any ideas??? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2008, 09:36 PM
The Night Train The Night Train is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: ProTools 7.4 crashes when trying to import mp3

Check on what version of Quicktime is installed on your system.
(You can see the version listed in add/remove programs, find Quicktime and click it for more support info)

If its an older version like 6.5.2.. uninstall it, download and install a newer version like 7.2 or 7.3

Hope that helps.
__________________
If you don't have it backed up, do you really have it?
[ Mac Pro 4x2.66 | 3x23" | 5GB | 4x500GB int. - 4x500GB ext. | 10.5.5 | PT8 003R | Command|8 | BM-5A's ]
[ Macbook Pro 2.16 | 17" | 2GB | 1x120GB int. - 2x250GB ext. | 10.5.5/XPproSP2 | PT8 Mbox2Micro ]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-2008, 05:45 PM
insanesounds insanesounds is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 123
Default Re: ProTools 7.4 crashes when trying to import mp3

AWESOME, thanks! Un-installed QT and now it's all good. Outside of doing quicktime movies within PT, what else would be the reason, if any. for having QT installed on a PT system? Is it needed for converting Mac PT sessions on PC for their SD2 files - or is that handled straight thru PT anyway? I'm downloading the newest player for now but won't install until I run into some snag where PT might need QT. Thanks again for the help!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-04-2008, 04:27 AM
Michael 2044 Michael 2044 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: ProTools 7.4 crashes when trying to import mp3

thanks guys, this has also helped me! same problem. really appreciate the insight. MC
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2009, 09:33 AM
UrukHai UrukHai is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: ProTools 7.4 crashes when trying to import mp3

thax a lot guyz! i fixed that issue installing Quick Time 7.2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Crashes after Quicktime Import Freemason Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-02-2009 11:31 AM
WinXP AVOption V10 AAF import , ProTools crashes. audioposttvtwono Post - Surround - Video 1 03-04-2005 04:06 AM
OMF Import crashes Randy Garmon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-28-2004 03:29 PM
OMF import crashes system bob schachner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-16-2004 11:29 AM
Import audio crashes?? tandem Tips & Tricks 1 02-14-2003 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com