Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-07-2011, 10:24 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,665
Default 10 Crashing opening sessions pressing play. SORTED I THINK. RAM PROBLEM!!

Hi,

UPDATE!! I MIGHT HAVE FOUND THE PROBLEM. CHECKING THE RAM I FOUND 2 GIG HAD DISAPPEARED! SO I'VE RE-SEATED THE RAM RISER BOARDS AND NOW HAVE THE FULL 6 GIG AGAIN. HOPEFULLY THAT WAS CAUSING THE PROBLEM.

I keep getting this same crash on different sessions. up on loading the session i press play and SWOD then crash.

once sessions are open and running there's no issue so seems to be just the first press of play or the first minutes after opening that its volatile...




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2011, 09:13 PM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default Re: 10 Crashing opening sessions pressing play. SORTED I THINK. RAM PROBLEM!!

Hi Chris,

Could it possibly be this?

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313225
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2011, 03:53 AM
ctyelvis ctyelvis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta, IN
Posts: 465
Default Re: 10 Crashing opening sessions pressing play. SORTED I THINK. RAM PROBLEM!!

Chris,
I've noticed that in my Mac before. Occasionally "losing" a gig or two, then upon a restart it shows up again. I'll have to pop open my Mac and give the ram a re-seat. I have 24gb installed so a couple gig missing hasn't hurt me though either way. Enough at least to cause any problems.


-Chris
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2011, 01:08 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,665
Default Re: 10 Crashing opening sessions pressing play. SORTED I THINK. RAM PROBLEM!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctyelvis View Post
Chris,
I've noticed that in my Mac before. Occasionally "losing" a gig or two, then upon a restart it shows up again. I'll have to pop open my Mac and give the ram a re-seat. I have 24gb installed so a couple gig missing hasn't hurt me though either way. Enough at least to cause any problems.


-Chris
Hi,

Yes there's something funky going on, because i've just loaded a session after its been fine all day using 6gig and i get the low ram error message and system profiler is showing 2 gig missing again and i'm down to 4gig

I get the feeling this is somehow related to the disk cache feature! I've never had a ram issue before so surprised out of nowhere to be getting this missing 2 ram all of a sudden. and only since using PT10.

Going to turn off and re-seat the risers again


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2011, 06:59 PM
magpro magpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: california
Posts: 13
Default Re: 10 Crashing opening sessions pressing play. SORTED I THINK. RAM PROBLEM!!

i have had this as well.
it started happening right after upgrading to 10...

i only had the low memory message once.,
restarted, fine.

i will watch out for this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 9 help (crashing on opening sessions andycallison macOS 1 09-10-2011 09:53 AM
Strike 1.5 crashing PT9.02 on opening Old Sessions SFactory Virtual Instruments 4 04-23-2011 07:06 AM
PT sessions crashing upon opening them ChrisNW Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 07-25-2007 08:05 PM
PT MIX|24 Crashing after pressing play... Schatzi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-24-2005 07:56 PM
Crashing when opening up older sessions IO Composer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-25-2005 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com