Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2020, 06:58 PM
smallstonefan smallstonefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 23
Default Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

I have a project where everything is recorded at 99 BPM. I would like to have the song play at 102 or 103 BPM. In Ableton this is a simple thing as Ableton can stretch everything in a project when the tempo is changed.

Is there a way to do this in Pro Tools? It seems to me that stretching all tracks in the mixing stage would yield better results that stretching the stereo mix.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

James
My latest song Ultraviolet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2020, 08:46 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Use Elastic Audio.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2020, 09:53 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,542
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallstonefan View Post
I have a project where everything is recorded at 99 BPM. I would like to have the song play at 102 or 103 BPM. In Ableton this is a simple thing as Ableton can stretch everything in a project when the tempo is changed.

Is there a way to do this in Pro Tools?
You can do it with Elastic Audio, but you'll lose some quality even with XFORM. I've done it plenty of times though. I wouldn't use it on drums - elastic audio kills the attack. What I do is to split up the entire drum track using Beat Detective, make the tempo change (with all tracks set to Tick base) and then apply crossfades. Best if you listen to the entire track carefully afterwards to make sure everything sounds ok - sometimes you may need to adjust some of the edits and crossfades.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallstonefan View Post
It seems to me that stretching all tracks in the mixing stage would yield better results that stretching the stereo mix.
Typically yes it's better to apply it to the individual tracks, though it takes longer when applying XFORM. Make sure you keep a backup of the original song.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2020, 04:49 AM
smallstonefan smallstonefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 23
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Thanks guys - I am not familiar with Elastic Audio or XForm so I'll go research those.

The good news is I still have the original midi for the drums so I can just re-render them at the new tempo. Thanks for the warning on this!
__________________
james

Hear my latest song Ultraviolet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2020, 05:18 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,761
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Elastic Audio is bult in. X-form costs money - it's an extra algoritm for EA. Easiest way: Set all tracks to tick-based (midi tracks already are tickbased, audiotracks are sample based.) Then when you change the bpm of the session, EA will stretch or compress the audio.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, SSL UC1, iPad Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2020, 07:22 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

X-Form is part of Elastic Audio. It’s one of the four algorithms. Only the Audiosuite plugin requires a purchase, but you don’t require that.

EA X-Form requires rendering so if you alter the length of a clip, it will need to redo the render again. This isn’t the case with the others. Something to keep in mind.

Also, play with the other algorithms. Contrary to most people’s opinions, I don’t find X-Form to be the best. Too much smearing and a somewhat chorusy sound. I prefer Polyphonic, but it does require finessing. I typically go in and lower the detection of transients and remove them on any sustained portions. That in combination with tweaking the algorithm settings yields (to me) the best results.

Also, because you’re going up in tempo, you’ll get better results. It’s removing time rather than adding it. Also, it’s quite a small change in tempo. I bet with a bit of fine tuning, you’ll get a very good result.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2020, 05:08 AM
smallstonefan smallstonefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 23
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Thanks for the additional info!

I will get a chance to experiment with this over the weekend. :)
__________________
james

Hear my latest song Ultraviolet
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2020, 11:55 AM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 241
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallstonefan View Post
I have a project where everything is recorded at 99 BPM. I would like to have the song play at 102 or 103 BPM.

Is there a way to do this in Pro Tools?

My latest song Ultraviolet
I see you prefer to do this in Pro Tools. So, excuse me for asking a question that strays outside of the fence...

Have you thought of re-recording the tune at the preferred tempo...?

Seems much better to me than living with a reduction in quality. Years from now, when you play the "stretched" track back, you will always hear the weakness of the conversion.

Don't ask me how I know this.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2020, 04:01 PM
smallstonefan smallstonefan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Papillion, Ne
Posts: 23
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

I appreciate this question. I could probably go back to source instruments that are VSTs and re-render, but re-recording the analog stuff is not an option. With all the processing I've done to things at stages before this mixing stage - I just don't think it's practical.

Turns out X-Form is part of my subscription so I'm going to experiment with that. :)
__________________
james

Hear my latest song Ultraviolet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2020, 04:22 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,843
Default Re: Is there a way to speed the tempo of a project?

X-form is a viable option, but for the small change you are going for, I have had very good results using The appropriate algorithm per track(in Ticks mode) and just changing the tempo. Also, UNDO is your friend here, so listen to the results before you commit. If you can't maintain the sound quality, you could download the free demo of Serato Pitch 'n Time Pro(use in Audiosuite format) as that plugin does this function better than anything else I have tried(but its pricey to buy)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will 44khz change the playback speed in a 48khz project? Dan Wake Tips & Tricks 10 02-19-2015 11:22 AM
tempo half speed manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-28-2009 09:24 AM
How do you speed up the tempo to music already recorded? Miguel Recendez Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 03-07-2009 03:11 AM
Need to speed up a tempo L-Dogg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-16-2008 08:35 AM
Why does the Tempo change (speed up) when.... Mikchek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-08-2003 07:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com