Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2021, 07:01 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,716
Default Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

I was wondering, and I don't think I've ever read or come across this concept, except perhaps samples on a separate drive.

Anyhow I'm doing a fresh reinstall and a popup came up regarding the custom install of AIR instruments.

Are they folks that actually use a separate drive for plugins and instruments when installing Pro Tools.

I'm aware some keep samples separate? THANKS
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MOJAVE - PT 2020.3.1 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 06-11-2021 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2021, 08:57 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,315
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

You can’t (well....) install plugins to anywhere but the default location.

Just install as normal and move the libraries to a seperate drive. The installers take the guesswork out of everything. Just follow the prompts unless you don’t want to install the VST/AU components. Then do a custom install and deselect those options.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2021, 09:18 PM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,353
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

AIR Installers prompt for the Samples (BIG Files) location

If you haven’t already, create a Folder (for all of your Samples) on your Samples drive called
Sound Libraries

Create a Folder in Sound Libraries called
AIR Music Technology

Create a Folder in AIR Music Technology called
AIR Content

Create separate Folders in AIR Content for each AIR Instrument
For example, locate the large Mini Grand BIG File here:
Samples drive>Sound Libraries>AIR Music Technology>AIR Content>Mini Grand

Latest AIR download links:
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2601770&postcount=1

Installing Strike 2:
https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2601791&postcount=2
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.6 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.3 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2021, 09:38 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,716
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

Thank you both. Now since there's much debate on APFS. Should I format the sound library APFS or Extended Journaled ?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MOJAVE - PT 2020.3.1 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2021, 10:19 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,315
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

I keep my external drives as HFS+ only because there are still no drive repair/optimisation utilities that work with APFS.

The other reason to keep them in HFS+ is if you plan on sharing the external drives with machines running older versions of macOS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2021, 03:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,772
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

My understanding, although limited when it comes to techninalities of this is; APFS for SSDs and HFS+ for spinners.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, SSL UC1, iPad Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2021, 03:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,549
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
I keep my external drives as HFS+ only because there are still no drive repair/optimisation utilities that work with APFS.

The other reason to keep them in HFS+ is if you plan on sharing the external drives with machines running older versions of macOS.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
basslik said nothing about using an external drive for samples. If he's using an ssd and it's internal go with APFS.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2021, 04:31 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,315
Default Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

Ok. He may have a tower with multiple drive bays. You’re right. I have no idea.

Point number one still stands though. There are currently no drive utility applications that can repair APFS formatted drives. If that doesn’t bother him, then sure, no problem. It does concern me and is why all my drives aside from my boot drive remain HFS+.

It’s worth mentioning as a lot of people aren’t aware of that current limitation. Utilities like DiskWarrior have rescued many a drive for myself and colleagues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2021, 07:13 AM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,716
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&instruments)

Thank you all for your valuable time.
System, Mac Pro 4,1>5,1 bootrom144

I'm reinstalling everything on a spinner and plan on cloning everything to a faster drive, and in which order the ones should be system drive, samples and recording drive.

I would like to be able to switch drives to a older OS for certain things and HFS+ would be practical I would imagine.

Combination please, system drive, samples drive, and audio recording drive config?

Here's what I have to clone system drive.
1. Single Samsung Evo Plus M.2
2. OWC Accelsior PCI
3. OWC SSD in slot bay
4. Newly acquired I/O Cest 16x2 M.2 <<<( I gather to benefit speed use 16x slot


Thank you.
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MOJAVE - PT 2020.3.1 / 003 CONSOLE /DIGIMAX FS /PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF


Last edited by basslik; 06-12-2021 at 07:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2021, 09:41 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,549
Default Re: Custom installs ? (plugins&amp;instruments)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
Ok. He may have a tower with multiple drive bays. You’re right. I have no idea.

Point number one still stands though. There are currently no drive utility applications that can repair APFS formatted drives. If that doesn’t bother him, then sure, no problem. It does concern me and is why all my drives aside from my boot drive remain HFS+.

It’s worth mentioning as a lot of people aren’t aware of that current limitation. Utilities like DiskWarrior have rescued many a drive for myself and colleagues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you look at basslik's sig you'll see he has a 5,1 Mac Pro so that's definitely a tower. Still not having a repair utility for APFS drives isn't good but nothing one really needs to worry about as you'll have less issues with ssd's than spinners.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elaborated: Custom Organize Plugins Menu hatepop Pro Tools 12 0 12-27-2015 04:48 PM
FS: UAD 2 OCTO PCIe Custom with a lot of plugins HolB Buy & Sell 2 12-07-2014 11:06 AM
Pro Tools Installs but plugins don't! basskater87 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 6 06-24-2010 01:39 PM
Newbie question about custom virtual instruments Dakota281 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-09-2010 02:39 AM
Tdm 6.4 plugins and instruments maddogz Tips & Tricks 2 08-20-2009 06:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com