Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2009, 04:22 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default PTLE8 Install Hangs

I am installing PTLE8 on my new MacBook Pro - The installer gets to "Running Pro Tools Creative Collection Installer script" and the dialog box says "Install time remaining: About a minute" and there it stays.....

I just uninistalled PT M-Powered on the machine - is there anything I need to do to get the LE install to work that may be related to removing M-Powered?

-D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2009, 04:33 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,800
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

How long did it hang there?

The Creative Collection is about 4GB in size and that progress meter can sometimes be inaccurate. I'd give it 30+ minutes from the time it starts to install the CC until it should finish - it may take more or less time depending on your DVD drive.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2009, 04:46 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

Thanks for the quick reply - I interrupted the install and PT runs fine - I let it sit there for about 20 minutes - and I guess since the installer said less than a minute I thought it was hung - should I uninstall and re-install or is there some files or folders I should check for their integrity? Thanks again so much!

-D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2009, 05:20 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,800
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

You could just re-run the installer, this time only check the option to install the Creative Collection.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2009, 05:56 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

Thanks, did that... it still hangs? So, I booted under Windows and tried to install there. So far two things are happening.

First when the installer prompts me to plug in the Mbox, and I click through the XP unsigned messages... I get a ballon at the bottom indicating that my hardware device is not properly installed... then... I see the installer continue until it gets to "Installing Pro Tools Creative Collection" and we just sit.... I'll let it sit for 40 minutes then try a restart.

Hmmm is this a bumpy install or is it me? I've installed everything on this machine (Vegas Pro, Sonar, Adobe Creative Suite CS4, Sound Forge, Pro-Tools M, Logic) and all have gone fine.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2009, 06:04 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

After 10 minutes a dialog box has popped up saying "the installer was unable to locate the required quicktime components on this system. Pro Tools requires Quicktime to include movie files...."

Any assistance on what QT components I need to load and where to find them? Thanks in advance.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2009, 04:09 PM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

Hi Don:

I have the same problem. The installer just sits on "Running Pro Tools Creative Collection Installer Script". I am updating from PT 7.3.1 on a new 24" Intel iMac. Did you ever get it to work?

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2009, 05:38 PM
DonM DonM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Western Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 223
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

T:

The install never completed, but Pro Tools runs fine. I have not checked each of the Creative Collection plugs to see what works and what doesn't. I hoped someone might steer me (now us) in the proper direction.

-D
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2009, 05:55 AM
Torchlight Torchlight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beallsville, Maryland USA
Posts: 180
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

Don:

After I went back down to the studio I noticed the the installation completed. I have no idea if it installed the creative collection plugins properly though. What are they listed under? So far PT 8 seems to run well. I'm sure I will find bugs though. What CS update are they on so far for PT 8?

Torchlight
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2009, 02:50 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,144
Default Re: PTLE8 Install Hangs

Protools 8.0 is currently on cs3.

You can install the free Quciktime application from Apple's website. Protools has required Quicktime from Apple to run for many years so this not a Protools 8.0 requirement.

As for the hanging while installing, mine took about 45 minutes on a CoreDuo (correct: there is no 2 in the middle) Mac Mini. Other than the (is my watch broken?) question, everything runs fine for me.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.5.1 running Protools 2021.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RESOLVED: Need PTLE8 Install advice asap. 99silverado Eleven Rack 11 03-26-2011 11:26 AM
Is PTLE8 a full install? The Miff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-29-2010 06:44 AM
How many install instances does PTLE8 allow? Nathan Rain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-09-2010 03:19 PM
Restore-Install PTLe8 & plug ins henno 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-14-2009 04:06 AM
PTLE8 will not install NS3474 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-20-2009 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com